WTA Hobart Live Stream – 13-18 January 2020

Leigh Copson:

Australia's summer of tennis continues at the Hobart International, played the week before the first Grand Slam of the year at the Australian Open, as top WTA Tour players gather to fine-tune their games in the sunshine.

Two-time champion Elise Mertens the field alongside home favourite Sam Stosur as the 2020 Hobart International takes place from 13-18 January.

WTA Hobart Live Streaming

WTA Hobart tennis is live from 13-18 January 2020 with play starting around 12.00pm local/1.00am GMT. Bookmaker bet365 are offering customers the opportunity to watch a live stream of the match alongside in-play betting.

Watch and bet on WTA Hobart tennis live at bet365 > live streaming > tennis (geo-restrictions apply; funded account required or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours to qualify)

How to watch and bet on WTA Hobart International tennis:

  1. Visit the bet365 website
  2. Sign into your account or register for a new one
  3. Select Live Streaming
  4. Select ‘Tennis’ from the ‘All Sports’ dropdown menu
  5. Enjoy a live stream & in-play betting for WTA Hobart tennis, live from 13-18 January 2020.

PLEASE NOTE: You must have a funded account or have placed a bet in the last 24 hours in order to watch tennis; geo-restrictions apply.

WTA Hobart Tournament Schedule

Date – TimeEvent NameLocation
17 Jan 2020 03:30Semi-FinalsDomain Tennis Centre
18 Jan 2020 02:00FinalDomain Tennis Centre

WTA Hobart Players 2020

The revamped calendar for 2020 sees the Hobart International being played alongside the new Premier Adelaide International in the second week of the season – and the last week for players to prepare for the first major of the year in Melbourne.

The Hobart International always boasts an eclectic field of players competing for the International-level title, ranking points and prize money, as well as looking to tune up their games for the Australian Open, and the tournament has a history of functioning as a springboard for success – 2017-18 champion Elise Mertens would go on to make the semifinals of the Australian Open and rise as high as world no. 12 in 2018; 2019 champion Sofia Kenin would go on from winning her maiden title in Hobart to claim two more by year’s end and rise into the world’s top 15.

The Hobart International has yet to release a full entry list for 2020 but two players who are scheduled to appear – and be popular attractions – are two-time champion Mertens and Australian favourite Sam Stosur.

Elise Mertens won her maiden WTA Tour title at the Hobart International in 2017 as a qualifier ranked world no. 127, defeating top seed Kiki Bertens on the way; by the end of the season she was inside the top 40. Successfully defending her title in Hobart in 2018, Mertens went on to reach the semifinals of the Australian Open and break into the top 15, peaking at world no. 12 in January 2019.

The Belgian went on to win the fifth and biggest title of her career so far at the Qatar Total Open in Doha in 2019, and claimed doubles titles at Indian Wells, Miami and the US Open alongside Aryna Sabalenka.

Recently presented with the Spirit of Tennis award at the Australian Tennis Awards, Samantha Stosur was Australia’s standard bearer in women’s tennis for many years and won the US Open in 2011. Among active players, only Serena Williams has spent more years inside the world’s top 100. Despite struggles with injury in recent years, Stosur won the Australian Open women’s doubles title with Zhang Shuai in 2019 and reached the 25th singles final of her career in Guangzhou in September. She is sure to be a very popular draw at the Hobart International, which she last played in 2014, reaching the semifinal.

WTA Hobart Seeds

Check back here later when the WTA Hobart seeds are announced.

About WTA Hobart

One of the final stops on tour before the opening grand slam of the year when the Australian Open begins the following week at Melbourne Park, the Hobart International gives players one last opportunity to fine-tune their games before battling it out for a major prize.

Founded back in 1994, the Hobart International is a WTA International tournament that is held at the Hobart International Tennis Centre.

Played on outdoor hardcourts, the Hobart International has seen some superstars of tennis grace the main city of Tasmania, with grand slam champions Garbine Muguruza and Petra Kvitova just some of the names who have captured the Hobart silverware over the last decade.

Former World No. 1s including Serena Williams, Justine Henin, Victoria Azarenka and Kim Clijsters have also participated in the event over the years.

Elise Mertens became the first player in the history of the event to defend their title when she beat Mihaela Buzarnescu in 2018, going on to reach the semifinals of the Australian Open the following fortnight. Other notable champions of the Hobart International include Patty Schnyder, Alicia Molik, Petra Kvitova and Garbine Muguruza.

Rising American star Sofia Kenin won her maiden WTA Tour title at the Hobart International in 2019, defeating Anna Karolina Schmiedlova in the final. Kenin went on to win two more International titles that season and break into the top 15.

WTA Hobart Tournament Information

WTA HobartHobart International
Dates13-18 January 2020
VenueHobart International Tennis Centre
LocationHobart, Australia
First Played1994
Prize Money$226,750
CategoryWTA International
Draw Size32 Singles/ 16 Doubles
Reigning Singles’ championSofia Kenin
Reigning Doubles’ championsChan Hao-ching/Latisha Chan

Former WTA Hobart Champions

Here is a full list of players who have triumphed at the Hobart International (players still active in singles are given in bold).

1994Mana EndoRachel McQuillan
1995Leila MeskhiLi Fang
1996Julie Halard-DecugisMana Endo
1997Dominique van RoostMarianne Werdel Witmayer
1998Patty SchnyderDominique van Roost
1999Chanda RubinRita Grande
2000Kim ClijstersChanda Rubin
2001Rita GrandeJennifer Hopkins
2002Martina SuchaAnabel Medina Garrigues
2003Alicia MolikAmy Frazier
2004Amy FrazierShinobu Asagoe
2005Zheng JieGisela Dulko
2006Michaella KrajicekIveta Benesova
2007Anna ChakvetadzeVasilisa Bardina
2008Eleni DaniilidouVera Zvonareva
2009Petra KvitovaIveta Benesova
2010Alona BondarenkoShahar Peer
2011Jarmila GrothBethanie Mattek-Sands
2012Mona BarthelYanina Wickmayer
2013Elena VesninaMona Barthel
2014Garbine MuguruzaKlara Zakopalova
2015Heather WatsonMadison Brengle
2016Alize CornetEugenie Bouchard
2017Elise MertensMonica Niculescu
2018Elise Mertens (2)Mihaela Buzarnescu
2019Sofia KeninAnna Karolina Schmiedlova

WTA Hobart Ranking Points


MORE: Get the latest tennis live streaming, news and betting tips – all in our exclusive tennis category