US Open Guide

Leigh Copson /
A general view of the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center (Photo by USA TODAY Network/SIPA USA/PA Images).

Bettingpro's guide to the final Grand Slam tournament of the year, the US Open.

Roger Federer may be the most successful player in the history of the US Open that is still actively competing, but it has been over a decade since the legendary Swiss ace won the final Grand Slam tournament of the year.

In that time Rafael Nadal has crept up on him by being crowned champion at Flushing Meadow on no less than four occasions, and if he can claim title number five he will join his long-time rival in the record books.

Unsurprisingly Federer and three-time winner Novak Djokovic are highly fancied to deny the Spaniard a fifth US Open crown in 2020, with rising stars Daniil Medvedev and Stefanos Tsitsipas considered dark horses alongside Alexander Zverev following their performances at the season-ending ATP Tour Finals in November 2019.

In the women’s draw, Serena Williams holds the all-time record for most US Open wins alongside Chris Evert, but the record-setting American has not got her hands on this trophy since 2014. Since then she has fallen at the final hurdle in both 2018 and 2019, losing in straight sets in the final, but the bookies believe 2020 could be the year in which she finally claims US Open title number six.

Serena faces some serious competition though with no less than NINE players shorter than 20/1 at the time of writing, with 2019 US Open winner Bianca Andreescu leading the charge after her stunning win over Williams in the final.

Hot on her heels are the ‘usual suspects’ when it comes to women’s Grand Slam titles – 2019 French Open champion Ashleigh Barty, two-time Grand Slam winner Simona Halep, 2018 US Open champion Naomi Osaka, 2016 finalist Karolina Pliskova, 2016 finalist Madison Keys, two-time Grand Slam winner Petra Kvitova, and 2019 semi-finalists Elina Svitolina and Belinda Bencic.


US Open Winners

1968 Arthur Ashe Virginia Wade
1969 Rod Laver Margaret Court
1970 Ken Rosewall Margaret Court
1971 Stan Smith Billie Jean King
1972 Ilie Nastase Billie Jean King
1973 John Newcombe Margaret Court
1974 Jimmy Connors Billie Jean King
1975 Manuel Orantes Chris Evert
1976 Jimmy Connors Chris Evert
1977 Guillermo Vilas Chris Evert
1978 Jimmy Connors Chris Evert
1979 John McEnroe Tracy Austin
1980 John McEnroe Chris Evert
1981 John McEnroe Tracy Austin
1982 Jimmy Connors Chris Evert
1983 Jimmy Connors Martina Navratilova
1984 John McEnroe Martina Navratilova
1985 Ivan Lendl Hana Mandlikova
1986 Ivan Lendl Martina Navratilova
1987 Ivan Lendl Martina Navratilova
1988 Mats Wilander Steffi Graf
1989 Boris Becker Steffi Graf
1990 Pete Sampras Gabriela Sabatini
1991 Stefan Edberg Monica Seles
1992 Stefan Edberg Monica Seles
1993 Pete Sampras Steffi Graf
1994 Andre Agassi Arantxa Sanchez Vicario
1995 Pete Sampras Steffi Graf
1996 Pete Sampras Steffi Graf
1997 Patrick Rafter Martina Hingis
1998 Patrick Rafter Lindsay Davenport
1999 Andre Agassi Serena Williams
2000 Marat Safin Venus Williams
2001 Lleyton Hewitt Venus Williams
2002 Pete Sampras Serena Williams
2003 Andy Roddick Justine Henin
2004 Roger Federer Svetlana Kuznetsova
2005 Roger Federer Kim Clijsters
2006 Roger Federer Maria Sharapova
2007 Roger Federer Justine Henin
2008 Roger Federer Serena Williams
2009 Juan Martin del Potro Kim Clijsters
2010 Rafael Nadal Kim Clijsters
2011 Novak Djokovic Samantha Stosur
2012 Andy Murray Serena Williams
2013 Rafael Nadal Serena Williams
2014 Marin Cilic Serena Williams
2015 Novak Djokovic Flavia Pennetta
2016 Stan Wawrinka Angelique Kerber
2017 Rafael Nadal Sloane Stephens
2018 Novak Djokovic Naomi Osaka
2019 Rafael Nadal Bianca Andreescu