French Open Guide

Leigh Copson:
A general view of Roland Garros during a French Open match (Photo by USA TODAY Network/SIPA USA/PA Images).

Bettingpro's guide to the second Grand Slam tournament of the year, the French Open.

The French Open is arguably the most intriguing grand slam in the women’s game because only two active players have managed to reign at Roland Garros more than once – Serena Williams and Maria Sharapova.

Williams has not lifted this trophy since 2015 though, with Garbine Muguruza, Jelena Ostapenko, Simona Halep and defending champion Ashleigh Barty all getting their hands on the prize since Serena’s last success.

That quartet is expected to challenge again in 2020, alongside Williams of course, and in a wide-open field the bookmakers are also not writing off the likes of Kiki Bertens, Sloane Stephens, Angelique Kerber, Maidson Keys and Elina Svitolina.

Johanna Konta made it all the way to the semi-finals in 2019 and she is considered a dark horse as she bids to end Great Britain’s long, long wait for women’s singles champion at one of the grand slams.

The men’s picture is a little more straightforward – Rafael Nadal took his incredible record-setting haul of French Open titles to 12 in 2019 and the bookies believe he will take some stopping as he bids to claim number 13, and his fourth in a row, in 2020.


French Open Winners

1968Ken RosewallNancy Richey
1969Rod LaverMargaret Court
1970Jan KodesMargaret Court
1971Jan KodesEvonne Goolagong
1972Andres GimenoBillie Jean King
1973Ilie NastaseMargaret Court
1974Bjorn BorgChris Evert
1975Bjorn BorgChris Evert
1976Adriano PanattaSue Barker
1977Guillermo VilasMima Jausovec
1978Bjorn BorgVirginia Ruzici
1979Bjorn BorgChris Evert
1980Bjorn BorgChris Evert
1981Bjorn BorgHana Mandlikova
1982Mats WilanderMartina Navratilova
1983Yannick NoahChris Evert
1984Ivan LendlMartina Navratilova
1985Mats WilanderChris Evert
1986Ivan LendlChris Evert
1987Ivan LendlSteffi Graf
1988Mats WilanderSteffi Graf
1989Michael ChangArantxa Sanchez Vicario
1990Andres GomezMonica Seles
1991Jim CourierMonica Seles
1992Jim CourierMonica Seles
1993Sergi BrugueraSteffi Graf
1994Sergi BrugueraArantxa Sanchez Vicario
1995Thomas MusterSteffi Graf
1996Yevgeny KafelnikovSteffi Graf
1997Gustavo KuertenIva Majoli
1998Carlos MoyaArantxa Sanchez Vicario
1999Andre AgassiSteffi Graf
2000Gustavo KuertenMary Pierce
2001Gustavo KuertenJennifer Capriati
2002Albert CostaSerena Williams
2003Juan Carlos FerreroJustine Henin
2004Gaston GaudioAnastasia Myskina
2005Rafael NadalJustine Henin
2006Rafael NadalJustine Henin
2007Rafael NadalJustine Henin
2008Rafael NadalAna Ivanovic
2009Roger FedererSvetlana Kuznetsova
2010Rafael NadalFrancesca Schiavone
2011Rafael NadalLi Na
2012Rafael NadalMaria Sharapova
2013Rafael NadalSerena Williams
2014Rafael NadalMaria Sharapova
2015Stan WawrinkaSerena Williams
2016Novak DjokovicGarbine Muguruza
2017Rafael NadalJelena Ostapenko
2018Rafael NadalSimona Halep
2019Rafael NadalAshleigh Barty