Australian Open Guide

Leigh Copson:
A general view of the Road Laver Arena in Melbourne (Photo by ERIK ANDERSON/AAP/PA Images).

Bettingpro's guide to the first Grand Slam tournament of the year, the Australian Open.

Novak Djokovic became the most successful male player in the history of the Australian Open when he rolled over Rafael Nadal in 2019 to become a seven-time champion, ending Roger Federer’s two-year dominance of Down Under.

Of course Djokovic will once again be a front-runner for the male crown in 2020, but the bookies are not ruling out the possibility of Nadal gaining revenge, and they are not writing off the prospect of Federer once again defying father time to win this tournament for a seventh time in his glittering career.

The women’s singles picture looks a lot more wide open, with a whole host of names in contention for 2020 as defending champion Naomi Osaka attempts to become the first female player to successfully retain the Australian Open crown since Serena Williams achieved the feat back in 2009-2010.

Only seven-time winner Serena is shorter than Osaka in the betting, but the pair have several players hot on their heels with the likes of Simona Halep, Ashleigh Barty, Petra Kvitova, Sloan Stephens, Karolina Pliskova, Elina Svitolina, Garbine Muguruza, Madison Keys and 2016 champion Angelique Kerber all considered genuine contenders by the bookies.


Australian Open Winners

1969Rod LaverMargaret Court
1970Arthur AsheMargaret Court
1971Ken RosewallMargaret Court
1972Ken RosewallVirginia Wade
1973John NewcombeMargaret Court
1974Jimmy ConnorsEvonne Goolagong
1975John NewcombeEvonne Goolagong
1976Mark EdmondsonEvonne Goolagong
1977*Roscoe Tanner
Vitas Gerulaitis
Kerry Melville-Reid
Evonne Goolagong
1978Guillermo VilasChris O’Neil
1979Guillermo VilasBarbara Jordan
1980Brian TeacherHana Mandlikova
1981Johan KriekMartina Navratilova
1982Johan KriekChris Evert
1983Mats WilanderMartina Navratilova
1984Mats WilanderChris Evert
1985Stefan EdbergMartina Navratilova
1987Stefan EdbergHana Mandlikova
1988Mats WilanderSteffi Graf
1989Ivan LendlSteffi Graf
1990Ivan LendlSteffi Graf
1991Boris BeckerMonica Seles
1992Jim CourierMonica Seles
1993Jim CourierMonica Seles
1994Pete SamprasSteffi Graf
1995Andre AgassiMary Pierce
1996Boris BeckerMonica Seles
1997Pete SamprasMartina Hingis
1998Petr KordaMartina Hingis
1999Yevgeny KafelnikovMartina Hingis
2000Andre AgassiLindsay Davenport
2001Andre AgassiJennifer Capriati
2002Thomas JohanssonJennifer Capriati
2003Andre AgassiSerena Williams
2004Roger FedererJustine Henin
2005Marat SafinSerena Williams
2006Roger FedererAmelie Mauresmo
2007Roger FedererSerena Williams
2008Novak DjokovicMaria Sharapova
2009Rafael NadalSerena Williams
2010Roger FedererSerena Williams
2011Novak DjokovicKim Clijsters
2012Novak DjokovicVictoria Azarenka
2013Novak DjokovicVictoria Azarenka
2014Stan WawrinkaLi Na
2015Novak DjokovicSerena Williams
2016Novak DjokovicAngelique Kerber
2017Roger FedererSerena Williams
2018Roger FedererCarolina Wozniacki
2019Novak DjokovicNaomi Osaka