Are you over 18?

If you are not over 18 you cannot access the page.

This site is only for adults over 18 years of age.

Davis Cup Draws: Novak Djokovic could face Dominic Thiem as Serbia and Austria are grouped together

leye aduloju /

The draw for the 2020 Davis Cup Finals have been released, with holders Spain drawn alongside Russia, and ATP Cup champions, Serbia handed a difficult group that includes Austria and Germany.

The Davis Cup Finals will be staged in the Spanish capital, Madrid for the second straight year, with the tournament set to hold from 23-29 November.

The team event is adopting its revamped format for the second consecutive season, with 18 teams set to battle for Davis Cup glory in Madrid at the end of the year. Spain, inspired by the great Rafael Nadal, won last year’s tournament, beating Canada in the final.

In the draw conducted at the ITF office in London on Thursday, the 18 teams were divided onto six groups of three, with the group winners, alongside the two best second-placed teams set to progress to the quarter finals in November’s Finals.

Hosts and holders, Spain are in Group A along with Russia, while Ecuador, the lowest ranked side in the tournament, make up the group. Spain and Russia are in the same group for the second straight year, and the tie between the two nations could see Nadal go head-to-head with Daniil Medvedev.

The most intriguing group is arguably Group F, which has Serbia, Austria and Germany. The group could potentially have top-ten battles featuring Novak Djokovic, Dominic Thiem and Alexander Zverev, although Zverev opted out of last year’s tournament, after criticizing the revamped format.

Last year’s beaten finalists, Canada are in a favourable Group B with Kazakhstan and Sweden, while Great Britain are drawn against France and the Czech Republic in Group C.

Croatia, Australia and Hungary are in Group D, while the United States, Italy and Colombia are in Group E.


Full Draw

Group A Group B Group C Group D Group E Group F
Spain Canada France Croatia USA Serbia
Russia Kazakhstan Great Britain Australia Italy Germany
Ecuador Sweden Czech Republic Hungary Colombia Austria