ATP Auckland Live Stream – 13-18 January 2020

hyperionadmin /

With the Australian Open just around the corner, some of the leading ATP stars converge in Auckland for the ASB Classic to finalise their preparations for the first Grand Slam of the season, live from Auckland from 13-18 January 2020.

World no. 5 Daniil Medvedev, a two-time Masters 1000 Series champion in 2019, will make his Auckland debut at the 2020 ASB Classic, joined by fellow top-20 players and rising stars Karen Khachanov and Denis Shapovalov at the head of a strong field.

ATP Auckland Live Streaming

ATP Auckland tennis is live from 13-18 January 2020 with play starting around 12.00pm local/11.00pm GMT. Bookmaker bet365 are offering customers the opportunity to watch a live stream of the match alongside in-play betting.

Watch and bet on ATP Auckland tennis live at bet365 > live streaming > tennis (geo-restrictions apply; funded account required or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours to qualify)

How to watch and bet on ATP Auckland tennis:

1. Visit the bet365 website

2. Sign into your account or register for a new one

3. Select Live Streaming

4. Select ‘Tennis’ from the ‘All Sports’ dropdown menu

5. Enjoy a live stream & in-play betting for ATP Auckland tennis, live from January 13-18 2020.

PLEASE NOTE: You must have a funded account or have placed a bet in the last 24 hours in order to watch tennis; geo-restrictions apply.

Watch & Bet On ATP Auckland Tennis Live Online 

ATP Auckland Tournament Schedule

Date / Time   Stage 
14 Jan 2020 23:00 Round 1
15 Jan 2020 23:00 Round 2
16 Jan 2020 23:00 Quarter-Finals
18 Jan 2020 03:00 Semi-Finals
18 Jan 2020 23:00 Final

ATP Auckland Players 2020

With three of the world’s top 20 players currently confirmed for the 2020 ASB Classic, the ATP 250 event in Auckland looks set for another memorable edition.

The most high-profile player looking to warm up for an Australian Open campaign at New Zealand’s only ATP Tour event is world no. 5 Daniil Medvedev, who staked his claim as perhaps the biggest threat to the ‘Big 3’ yet to emerge from the younger generation with a sensational 2019 season. The 23-year-old Russian peaked at world no. 4 after winning four titles in 2019, three of them during an incredible summer surge which saw him reach the finals of six consecutive tournaments, winning Masters 1000 Series titles in Cincinnati and Shanghai and finishing runner-up to Rafael Nadal at the US Open after a pulsating five-set final.

Medvedev went on to make his Nitto ATP Finals debut at the O2 Arena and anticipation is high for the lanky Russian’s 2020 season. The ASB Classic will be Medvedev’s first individual event of 2020 after he represents Russia at the ATP Cup.

Medvedev’s compatriot and ATP Cup teammate Karen Khachanov will be joining him at the ASB Classic. The 2018 Paris Masters champion will be making his third appearance in Auckland, with his best result having come two tournaments ago when he reached the quarterfinals before losing to Juan Martin del Potro.

The third top-20 player currently confirmed to be playing the 2020 ASB Classic is another young gun, Canada’s Denis Shapovalov. Currently ranked a career-high world no. 15, Shapovalov won his maiden ATP Tour title in Stockholm in the autumn of 2019 before reaching his first Masters 1000 Series final in Paris and going on to play a crucial role in Canada’s run to the final of the new-look Davis Cup in Madrid.

Americans Frances Tiafoe and John Isner – the latter a two-time ASB Classic champion – are also among confirmed players for ATP Auckland 2020, which begins on January 13.

About ATP Auckland

One of only two tournaments that players can enter the week before the Australian Open, the ASB Classic in Auckland represents the final chance for competitors to fine-tune their games before the opening grand slam of the season at Melbourne Park.

The biggest men’s professional sporting event in New Zealand, the ASB Classic – formerly known as the Heineken Open – has been played in Auckland since 1956. The tournament’s history stretches back to 1920, when Auckland Tennis raised an enormous £1,800 to transform a rubbish tip into the ASB Bank Tennis Centre, where the first Auckland Open would be held in 1956. The tournament was a joint men’s and women’s event until 1981 and currently the ASB Tennis Arena in Auckland hosts a WTA Tour event the week before it welcomes the ATP for the ASB Classic.

The USA’s Robert Perry won the first title in 1956, defeating Australia’s Allan Burns in the final, and for 10 years between 1959 and 1969 the tournament was the exclusive property of Australian players, with Roy Emerson, Rod Laver and Tony Roche among the legends to claim the title. Great Britain’s Roger Taylor briefly interrupted Australian domination in 1972, as did Bjorn Borg in 1974, but in recent years the tournament’s champions have been a much more eclectic mix as Mark Woodforde was the last Australian to lift the trophy in 1986.

Over the past three decades, Miroslav Mecir, Marcelo Rios, Jonas Bjorkman, Greg Rusedski, Gusatavo Kuerten and Fernando Gonzalez have been among the big players to win the ASB Classic, while David Ferrer and John Isner are the only active players to have won multiple titles at the event.

Ferrer, who has been ranked as high as world no. 3, won his first title in Auckland in 2007 before becoming the first man since Roy Emerson in 1965-67 to win three consecutive titles at the ASB Classic in 2011-13, defeating David Nalbandian (2011), Olivier Rochus (2012) and Philipp Kohlschreiber (2013). No player has ever won more titles in Auckland than Ferrer, who has also reached the semifinals of the Australian Open in the past, but he was beaten by Robin Haase in the opening round in 2017.

The USA’s big-serving John Isner captured the title in 2010 and 2014 – it remains the only tournament outside the US he has ever won. Jiri Vesely broke through to capture his first ATP title in Auckland in 2015 with a win over Adrian Mannarino in the final, while Roberto Bautista Agut secured the 2016 silverware after Jack Sock retired after losing the first set 6-1 in the title match. Sock made up for that disappointment by defeating Joao Sousa in the 2017 final, but Bautista Agut returned to the winners circle again in 2018, defeating Juan Martin del Potro in a thrilling final, 6-1 4-6 7-5.

Tennys Sandgren became the eleventh American man to claim the ASB Classic title when he defeated Great Britain’s Cameron Norrie, who spent much of his early life in New Zealand, in straight sets in 2019.

ATP Auckland Tournament Information

Dates 13-18 January 2020
Venue ASB Tennis Centre
Location Auckland. New Zealand
First Played 1956
Draw Size 32 Singles/ 16 Doubles
Surface Hard
Category ATP World Tour 250 Series
Prize Money $450,110
Reigning Singles Champion Tennys Sandgren
Reigning Doubles Champion Ben McLachlan/Jan-Lennard Struff

ATP Auckland Ranking Points

Here is a breakdown of the ranking points awarded by the ATP Tour for reaching various rounds at a 250 tournament like the ASB Classic.

Round  Points
Champion 250
Runner-Up 150
Semi-Final 90
Quarter-Final 45
Round of 16 20
First Round 10
Qualifying 12