US Open Guide

Leigh Copson:
The US Open Championship Trophy (Photo by USA TODAY Network/SIPA USA/PA Images).

The US Open heads to Winged Foot Golf Club in New York in 2020 and looking to successfully defend his crown will be a man who pulled off quite the surprise to win this major tournament in 2019, veteran American Gary Woodland.

Woodland had never placed higher than sixth at a major prior to his success at Pebble Beach, but he was able to fend off the challenge of four-time major winner Brooks Koepka to walk away with the prize.

The bookies are not predicting back-to-back US Open titles for Woodland in 2020 though, they believe Koepka, Rory McIlroy and Dustin Johnson are leading the charge, with Tiger Woods not being written off if he goes in search of a fourth US Open crown and first for over decade.



US Open Winners

1895Horace Rawlins2 strokes
1896James Foulis3 strokes
1897Joe Lloyd1 stroke
1898Fred Herd7 strokes
1899Willie Smith11 strokes
1900Harry Vardon2 strokes
1901Willie AndersonPlay-off
1902Laurie Auchterlonie6 strokes
1903Willie AndersonPlay-off
1904Willie Anderson4 strokes
1905Willie Anderson2 strokes
1906Alex Smith7 strokes
1907Alec Ross2 strokes
1908Fred McLeodPlay-off
1909George Sargent4 strokes
1910Alex SmithPlay-off
1911John McDermottPlay-off
1912John McDermott2 strokes
1913Francis QuimetPlay-off
1914Walter Hagen1 stroke
1915Jerome Travers1 stroke
1916Chick Evans2 strokes
1919Walter HagenPlay-off
1920Ted Ray1 stroke
1921Jim Barnes9 strokes
1922Gene Sarazen1 stroke
1923Bobby JonesPlay-off
1924Cyril Walker3 strokes
1925Willie MacfarlanePlay-off
1926Bobby Jones1 stroke
1927Tommy ArmourPlay-off
1928Johnny FarrellPlay-off
1929Bobby JonesPlay-off
1930Bobby Jones2 strokes
1931Billy BurkePlay-off
1932Gene Sarazen3 strokes
1933Johnny Goodman1 stroke
1934Olin Dutra1 stroke
1935Sam Parks Jr2 strokes
1936Tony Manero2 strokes
1937Ralph Guldahl2 strokes
1938Ralph Guldahl6 strokes
1939Bryon NelsonPlay-off
1940Lawson littlePlay-off
1941Craig Wood3 strokes
1946Lloyd MangrumPlay-off
1947Lew WorshamPlay-off
1948Ben Hogan2 strokes
1949Cary Middlecoff1 stroke
1950Ben HoganPlay-off
1951Ben Hogan2 strokes
1952Julian Boros4 strokes
1953Ben Hogan6 strokes
1954Ed Furgol1 stroke
1955Jack FleckPlay-off
1956Cary Middlecoff1 stroke
1957Dick MayerPlay-off
1958Tommy Bolt4 strokes
1959Billy Casper1 stroke
1960Arnold Palmer2 strokes
1961Gene Littler1 stroke
1962Jack NicklausPlay-off
1963Julius BorosPlay-off
1964Ken Venturi4 strokes
1965Gary PlayerPlay-off
1966Billy CasperPlay-off
1967Jck Nicklaus4 strokes
1968Lee Trevino4 strokes
1969Orville Moody1 stroke
1970Tony Jacklin7 strokes
1971Lee TrevinoPlay-off
1972Jack Nicklaus3 strokes
1973Johnny Miller1 stroke
1974Hale Irwin2 strokes
1975Lou GrahamPlay-off
1976Jerry Pate2 strokes
1977Hubert Green1 stroke
1978Andy North1 stroke
1979Hale Irwin2 strokes
1980Jack Nicklaus2 strokes
1981David Graham3 strokes
1982Tom Watson2 strokes
1983Larry Nelson1 stroke
1984Fuzzy ZoellerPlay-off
1985Andy North1 stroke
1986Raymond Floyd2 strokes
1987Scott Simpson1 stroke
1988Curtis StrangePlay-off
1989Curtis Strange1 stroke
1990Hale IrwinPlay-off
1991Payne StewartPlay-off
1992Tom Kite2 strokes
1993Lee Janzen2 strokes
1994Ernie ElsPlay-off
1995Corey Pavin2 strokes
1996Steve Jones1 stroke
1997Ernie Els1 stroke
1998Lee Janzen1 stroke
1999Payne Stewart1 stroke
2000Tiger Woods15 strokes
2001Retief GoosenPlay-off
2002Tiger Woods3 strokes
2003Jim Furyk3 strokes
2004Retief Goosen2 strokes
2005Michael Campbell2 strokes
2006Geoff Ogilvy1 stroke
2007Angel Cabera1 stroke
2008Tiger WoodsPlay-off
2009Lucas Glover2 strokes
2010Graeme McDowell1 stroke
2011Rory McIlroy8 strokes
2012Webb Simpson1 stroke
2013Justin Rose2 strokes
2014Martin Kaymer8 strokes
2015Jordan Spieth1 stroke
2016Dustin Johnson3 strokes
2017Brooks Koepka4 strokes
2018Brooks Koepka1 stroke
2019Gary Woodland3 strokes