The Open Championship Guide

Leigh Copson:
The Claret Jug (Photo by USA TODAY Network/SIPA USA/PA Images).

Golf’s big guns were upstaged in the final major of 2019 as Irishman Shane Lowry produced a sensational late surge at Royal Portrush Golf Club to claim the biggest victory of his career and end his wait to win one of golf’s biggest prizes at the 2019 Open Championship.

Lowry suffered disappointment in 2016 when a poor final round at the US Open cost him dear, but there was no Sunday slump from the Irishman at the 2019 Open Championship as he followed up a record-setting 63 in the penultimate with a comfortable final-round 72 to finish sixth strokes clear of the rest of the field.

The bookmakers are hoping he savoured that moment, because they do not expect him to lift the Claret Jug in 2020. Four-time major winners Rory McIlroy and Brooks Koepka are heading up the market as the tournament heads to Royal St George’s Golf Club in Kent, with the likes of Dustin Johnson, Jon Rahm, Justin Rose and Tommy Fleetwood leading the charge to deny the pair.



The Open Championship Winners

1860Willie Park Sr2 strokes
1861Tom Morris Sr4 strokes
1862Tom Morris Sr13 strokes
1863Willie Park Sr2 strokes
1864Tom Morris Sr2 strokes
1865Andrew Strath2 strokes
1866Willie Park Sr2 strokes
1867Tom Morris Sr2 strokes
1868Tom Morris Jr3 strokes
1869Tom Morris Jr11 strokes
1870Tom Morris Jr12 strokes
1872Tom Morris Jr3 strokes
1873Tom Kidd1 stroke
1874Mungo Park2 strokes
1875Willie Park Sr2 strokes
1876Bob MartinPlay-off
1877Jamie Anderson2 strokes
1878Jamie Anderson2 strokes
1879Jamie Anderson3 strokes
1890Bob Ferguson5 strokes
1881Bob Ferguson3 strokes
1882Bob Ferguson3 strokes
1883Willie FerniePlay-off
1884Jack Simpson4 strokes
1885Bob Martin1 stroke
1886David Brown2 strokes
1887Willie Park Jr1 stroke
1888Jack Burns1 stroke
1889Willie Park JrPlay-off
1890John Ball3 strokes
1891Hugh Kirkaldy2 strokes
1892Harold Hilton3 strokes
1893William Auchterlonie2 strokes
1894JH Taylor5 strokes
1895JH Taylor4 strokes
1896Harry VardonPlay-off
1897Harold Hilton1 stroke
1898Harry Vardon1 stroke
1899Harry Vardon5 strokes
1900JH Taylor8 strokes
1901James Braid3 strokes
1902Sandy Herd1 stroke
1903Harry Vardon6 strokes
1904Jack White1 stroke
1905James Braid5 strokes
1906James Braid4 strokes
1907Arnaud Massy2 strokes
1908James Bradi8 strokes
1909JH Taylor6 strokes
1910James Braid4 strokes
1911Harry VardonPlay-off
1912Ted Ray4 strokes
1913JH Taylor8 strokes
1914Harry Vardon3 strokes
1920George Duncan2 strokes
1921Jock HutchisonPlay-off
1922Walter Hagen1 stroke
1923Arthur Havers1 stroke
1924Walter hagen1 stroke
1925Jim Barnes1 stroke
1926Bobby Jones2 strokes
1927Bobby Jones6 strokes
1928Walter Hagen2 strokes
1929Walter Hagen6 strokes
1930Bobby Jones2 strokes
1931Tommy Armour1 stroke
1932Gene Sarazen5 strokes
1933Denny ShutePlay-off
1934Henry Cotton5 strokes
1935Alf Perry4 strokes
1936Alf Padgham1 stroke
1937Henry Cotton2 strokes
1938Reg Whitcombe2 strokes
1939Dick Burton2 strokes
1946Sam Snead4 strokes
1947Fred Daly1 stroke
1948Henry Cotton5 strokes
1949Bobby LockePlay-off
1950Bobby Locke2 strokes
1951Max Faulkner2 strokes
1952Bobby Locke1 stroke
1953Ben Hogan4 strokes
1954Peter Thomson1 stroke
1955Peter Thomson2 strokes
1956Peter Thomson3 strokes
1957Bobby Locke3 strokes
1958Peter ThomsonPlay-off
1959Gary Player2 strokes
1960Kel Nagle1 stroke
1961Arnold Palmer1 stroke
1962Arnold Palmer6 strokes
1963Bob CharlesPlay-off
1964Tony Lema5 strokes
1965Peter Thomson2 strokes
1966Jack Nicklaus1 stroke
1967Roberto De Vicenzo2 strokes
1968Gary Player2 strokes
1969Tony Jacklin2 strokes
1970Jack NicklausPlay-off
1971Lee Trevino1 stroke
1972Lee Trevino1 stroke
1973Tom Weiskopf3 strokes
1974Gary Player4 strokes
1975Tom WatsonPlay-off
1976Johnny Miller6 strokes
1977Tom Watson1 stroke
1978Jack Nicklaus2 strokes
1979Seve Ballesteros3 strokes
1980Tom Watson4 strokes
1981Bill Rogers4 strokes
1982Tom Watson1 stroke
1983Tom Watson1 stroke
1984Seve Ballesteros2 strokes
1985Sandy Lyle1 stroke
1986Greg Norman5 strokes
1987Nick Faldo1 stroke
1988Seve Ballesteros2 strokes
1989Mark CalcavecchiaPlay-off
1990Nick Faldo5 strokes
1991Ian Baker-Finch2 strokes
1992Nick Faldo1 stroke
1993Greg Norman2 strokes
1994Nick Price1 stroke
1995John DalyPlay-off
1996Tom Lehman2 strokes
1997Justin Leonard3 strokes
1998Mark O’MearaPlay-off
1999Paul LawriePlay-off
2000Tiger Woods8 strokes
2001David Duval3 strokes
2002Ernie ElsPlay-off
2003Ben Curtis1 stroke
2004Todd HamiltonPlay-off
2005Tiger Woods5 strokes
2006Tiger Woods2 strokes
2007Padraig HarringtonPlay-off
2008Paidraig Harrington4 strokes
2009Stewart CinkPlay-off
2010Louis Oosthuizen7 strokes
2011Darren Clarke3 strokes
2012Ernie Els1 stroke
2013Phil Mickelson3 strokes
2014Rory McIlroy2 strokes
2015Zach JohnsonPlay-off
2016Henrik Stenson3 strokes
2017Jordan Spieth3 strokes
2018Francesco Molinari2 strokes
2019Shane Lowry6 strokes