US Masters Guide

Leigh Copson:
Tiger Woods holds the trophy winning the Masters in 2019 (Photo by Curtis Compton/Zuma Press/PA Images).

The US Masters is the traditional curtain-raiser when it comes the Majors, with the 2020 instalment of this famous tournament at it's usual home of Augusta National Golf Club in Atlanta, Georgia taking place from April 9-12.

Tiger Woods famously won this tournament for a fifth time in 2019, rolling back the years to end his long-running Major drought, and while he is a leading contender to win back-to-back Masters titles for the first time since 2001-2002, the bookmakers believe he could be upstaged by Brooks Koepka – a two-time PGA Championship winner and two-time US Open champion who also topped the PGA Tour Money List in 2019.



The Masters Winners

1934Horton Smith2 strokes
1935Gene SarazenPlay-off
1936Horton Smith1 stroke
1937Bryon Nelson2 strokes
1938Henry Picard2 strokes
1939Ralph Guldahl1 stroke
1940Jimmy Demaret4 strokes
1941Craig Wood3 strokes
1942Bryon NelsonPlay-off
1946Herman Keiser1 stroke
1947Jimmy Demaret2 strokes
1948Claude Harmon5 strokes
1949Sam Snead3 strokes
1950Jimmy Demaret2 strokes
1951Ben Hogan2 strokes
1952Sam Snead4 strokes
1953Ben Hogan5 strokes
1954Sam SneadPlay-off
1955Cary Middlecoff7 strokes
1956Jack Burke Jr1 stroke
1957Doug Ford3 strokes
1958Arnold Palmer1 stroke
1959Art Wall Jr1 stroke
1960Arnold Palmer1 stroke
1961Gary Player1 stroke
1962Arnold PalmerPlay-off
1963Jack Nicklaus1 stroke
1964Arnold Palmer6 strokes
1965Jack Nicklaus9 strokes
1966Jack NicklausPlay-off
1967Gay Brewer1 stroke
1968Bob Goalby1 stroke
1969George Archer1 stroke
1970Billy CasperPlay-off
1971Charles Coody2 strokes
1972Jack Nicklaus3 strokes
1973Tommy Aaron1 stroke
1974Gary Player2 strokes
1975Jack Nicklaus1 stroke
1976Raymond Floyd8 strokes
1977Tom Watson2 strokes
1978Gary Player1 stroke
1979Fuzzy ZoellerPlay-off
1980Seve Ballesteros4 strokes
1981Tom Watson2 strokes
1982Craig StadlerPlay-off
1983Seve Ballesteros4 strokes
1984Ben Crenshaw2 strokes
1985Bernhard Langer2 strokes
1986Jack Nicklaus1 stroke
1987Larry MizePlay-off
1988Sandy Lyle1 stroke
1989Nick FaldoPlay-off
1990Nick FaldoPlay-off
1991Ian Woosnam1 stroke
1992Fred Couples2 strokes
1993Bernhard Langer4 strokes
1994Jose Maria Olazabal2 strokes
1995Ben Crenshaw1 stroke
1996Nick Faldo5 strokes
1997Tiger Woods12 strokes
1998Mark O’Meara1 stroke
1999Jose Maria Olazabal2 strokes
2000Vijay Singh3 strokes
2001Tiger Woods2 strokes
2002Tiger Woods3 strokes
2003Mike WeirPlay-off
2004Phil Mickelson1 stroke
2005Tiger WoodsPlay-off
2006Phil Mickelson2 strokes
2007Zach Johnson2 strokes
2008Trevor Immelman3 strokes
2009Angel CabreraPlay-off
2010Phil Mickelson3 strokes
2011Charl Schwartzel2 strokes
2012Bubba WatsonPlay-off
2013Adam ScottPlay-off
2014Bubba Watson3 strokes
2015Jordan Spieth4 strokes
2016Danny Willett3 strokes
2017Sergio GarciaPlay-off
2018Patrick Reed1 stroke
2019Tiger Woods1 stroke