French Grand Prix Betting Predictions & Tips

Dave Kuzio /
french gp

Max Verstappen currently leads the Formula One standings with 105 points, and he will be looking to extend his four point lead over reigning champion Lewis Hamilton at the French Grand Prix.

Read More: Check out our free Grand Prix predictions, tips & offers throughout the season

French Grand Prix Betting Predictions & Tips

Max Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton both wasted opportunities to win the Azerbaijan Grand Prix in Baku last time out.

Red Bull driver Verstappen looked on course to claim his first-ever Azerbaijan Grand Prix victory, but he crashed out just five laps from home to end any hope of collecting the most points.

That gave Hamilton the opportunity to take full advantage, but he locked up on the penultimate lap to spin off and ended up finishing in 15th when it looked like he would claim the win.

Both drivers will be looking to make amends for their performances last time, and as long as things go to plan, I cannot see anyone else beating these two.

Hamilton and Verstappen will both finish on the podium if they cut out the silly mistakes, but after seeing how gutted Verstappen was after crashing out in Baku, I believe he will be fully focused and he will take full points and remain top of the leader board.

Hamilton and Verstappen’s bad luck was great for Sergio Perez as he collected his second career victory to give Red Bull some points after all, and I am backing him to finish on the podium and boost his team’s chances of winning the Constructors Championship.

French Grand Prix Special Offers

F1 France

Circuit Guide

The Circuit Paul Ricard first hosted the French Grand Prix in 1971 and became the on-off home for this race over the next couple of decades before being dropped in favour of Magny-Cours in 1991. The France leg of the season as eventually dropped in 2008, but when it returned in 2018 it was announced that Circuit Paul Ricard would once again be the host track. An incredibly flat circuit that boasts a one-mile long straight, sweeping corners and several long run-off areas, this track is well known for high-speed racing that offers plenty of opportunities to overtake throughout a lap of the circuit. So far it has been Lewis Hamilton who has got to grips with this track the best, winning the French Grand Prix in each of its first two seasons back on the Formula 1 schedule.

Location: Circuit Paul Ricard, Le Castellet, France
Number of Laps: 53
Lap Length: 3.630 miles
Lap Record: Sebastian Vettel, 1 minute, 32.740 seconds (2019)

French Grand Prix Winners

1906 Ferenc Szisz Renault Le Mans
1907 Felice Nazzaro Fiat Dieppe
1908 Christian Lautenschlager Mercedes Dieppe
1912 Georges Boillot Peugeot Dieppe
1913 Georges Boillot Peugeot Amiens
1914 Christian Lautenschlager Mercedes Lyon
1921 Jimmy Murphy Duesenberg Le Mans
1922 Felice Nazzaro Fiat Strasbourg
1923 Henry Segrave Sunbeam Tours
1924 Giuseppe Campari Alfa Romeo Lyon
1925 Robert Benoist
Albert Divo
Delage Montlhery
1926 Jules Goux Bugatti Miramas
1927 Robert Benoist Delage Montlhery
1928 William Grover-Williams Bugatti Saint-Gaudens
1929 William Grover-Williams Bugatti Le Mans
1930 Philippe Etancelin Bugatti Pau
1931 Louis Chiron
Achille Varzi
Bugatti Montlhery
1932 Tazio Nuvolari Alfa Romeo Reims
1933 Giuseppe Campari Maserati Montlhery
1934 Louis Chiron Alfa Romeo Montlhery
1935 Rudolf Caracciola Mercedes-Benz Montlhery
1936 Jean-Pierre Wimille
Raymond Sommer
Bugatti Montlhery
1937 Louis Chiron Talbot Montlhery
1938 Manfred von Brauchitsch Mercedes Reims
1939 Hermann Paul Muller Auto Union Reims
1947 Louis Chiron Talbot-Lago Lyon-Parilly
1948 Jean-Pierre Wimille Alfa Romeo Reims
1949 Louis Chiron Talbot-Lago Reims
1949 Charles Pozzi Delahaye Saint-Gaudens
1950 Juan Manuel Fangio Alfa Romeo Reims
1951 Luigi Fagioli
Juan Manuel Fangio
Alfa Romeo Reims
1952 Alberto Ascari Ferrari Rouen
1953 Mike Hawthorn Ferrari Reims
1954 Juan Manuel Fangio Mercedes Reims
1956 Peter Collins Ferrari Reims
1957 Juan Manuel Fangio Maserati Rouen
1958 Mike Hawthorn Ferrari Reims
1959 Tony Brooks Ferrari Reims
1960 Jack Brabham Cooper-Climax Reims
1961 Giancarlo Baghetti Ferrari Reims
1962 Dan Gurney Porsche Rouen
1963 Jim Clark Lotus-Climax Reims
1964 Dan Gurney Brabham-Climax Rouen
1965 Jim Clark Lotus-Climax Charade
1966 Jack Brabham Brabham-Repco Reims
1967 Jack Brabham Brabham-Repco Le Mans
1968 Jacky Ickx Ferrari Rouen
1969 Jackie Stewart Matra-Ford Charade
1970 Jochen Rindt Lotus-Ford Charade
1971 Jackie Stewart Tyrrell-Ford Paul Ricard
1972 Jackie Stewart Tyrrell-Ford Charade
1973 Ronnie Peterson Lotus-Ford Paul Ricard
1974 Ronnie Peterson Lotus-Ford Dijon
1975 Niki Lauda Ferrari Paul Ricard
1976 James Hunt McLaren-Ford Paul Ricard
1977 Mario Andretti Lotus-Ford Dijon
1978 Mario Andretti Lotus-Ford Paul Ricard
1979 Jean-Pierre Jabouille Renault Dijon
1980 Alan Jones Williams-Ford Paul Ricard
1981 Alain Prost Renault Dijon
1982 Rene Arnoux Renault Paul Ricard
1983 Alain Prost Renault Paul Ricard
1984 Niki Lauda McLaren-TAG Dijon
1985 Nelson Piquet Brabham-BMW Paul Ricard
1986 Nigel Mansell Williams-Honda Paul Ricard
1987 Nigel Mansell Williams-Honda Paul Ricard
1988 Alain Prost McLaren-Honda Paul Ricard
1989 Alain Prost McLaren-Honda Paul Ricard
1990 Alain Prost Ferrari Paul Ricard
1991 Nigel Mansell Williams-Renault Magny-Cours
1992 Nigel Mansell Williams-Renault Magny-Cours
1993 Alain Prost Williams-Renault Magny-Cours
1994 Michael Schumacher Benetton-Ford Magny-Cours
1995 Michael Schumacher Benetton-Renault Magny-Cours
1996 Damon Hill Williams-Renault Magny-Cours
1997 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Magny-Cours
1998 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Magny-Cours
1999 Heinz-Harald Frentzen Jordan-Mugen-Honda Magny-Cours
2000 David Coulthard McLaren-Mercedes Magny-Cours
2001 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Magny-Cours
2002 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Magny-Cours
2003 Ralf Schumacher Williams-BMW Magny-Cours
2004 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Magny-Cours
2005 Fernando Alonso Renault Magny-Cours
2006 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Magny-Cours
2007 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari Magny-Cours
2008 Felipe Massa Ferrari Magny-Cours
2018 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Paul Ricard
2019 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Paul Ricard