Spanish Grand Prix Predictions & Tips

Leigh Copson:

Lewis Hamilton’s win streak was brought to a halt in the second Silverstone race of the season, so can the defending world champion make a return to winning ways in this weekend’s Spanish Grand Prix?

Hamilton endured something of a nightmare start to the season as he failed to make the podium at the Austrian Grand Prix, but he responded in emphatic fashion over the next three races, turning pole position into victory on each occasion while also completing a pole position/fastest lap/race win treble in Hungary.

However, his most recent victory, in the British Grand Prix, did offer a glimpse of the disappointment that would come in last weekend’s 70th Anniversary Grand Prix at the Northamptonshire circuit. Hamilton had to contend with a wrecked tire during the final lap of the first race of the Silverstone double-header and had his tyre blown up any earlier he could have been pipped to the chequered flag by Max Verstappen. He held on to win though, but tyre issues plagued him once again a week ago and that presented Verstappen with the opportunity to finally claim his first race win of the season.

Verstappen took it and although he was able to limit the damage by finishing second, Hamilton admitted afterwards that he is ‘keeping an eye’ on the Red Bull man in the race to be crowned world champion this season. If the Dutchman can make it back-to-back wins on Sunday he will certainly send a message to the reigning world champion, but I expect it will be ‘business as usual’ for Hamilton and Mercedes at the Circuit de Catalunya, a track they have dominated at in recent years.

Hamilton has won this race in each of the last three seasons and has turned pole into victory in the last two. He has also recorded the fastest lap in two of those three victories, so I am backing the British star to shine on Saturday and Sunday to get back to winning ways in the best possible fashion.

Circuit Guide

The Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya was first opened back in 1991 and that same year it hosted the Spanish Grand Prix for the first time. It has hosted this race ever since and it also serves as the track for winter testing, meaning drivers and teams are very familiar with the track. Since it was first opened the course has undergone alterations and the 2.892-mile track now features one of the longest straights in Formula 1 as well as a variety of different corners that can prove to be challenging when conditions are windy. Michael Schumacher is the most successful Formula 1 driver in the history of this circuit, winning the Spanish Grand Prix at Catalunya on no less than six occasions, while Lewis Hamilton is the most successful active driver having won the race in three consecutive seasons between 2017 and 2019 to take his career haul to four Catalunya victories.

Location: Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain
Number of Laps: 66
Lap Length: 2.892 miles
Lap Record: Daniel Ricciardo, 1 minute, 18.441 (2018)

Spanish Grand Prix Winners

1913Carlos de SalamancaRolls-RoyceGuadarrama
1923Alberto DivoSunbeamSitges-Terramar
1926Bartolomeo CostantiniBugattiLasarte
1927Robert BenoistDelageLasarte
1928Louis ChironBugattiLasarte
1929Louis ChironBugattiLasarte
1933Louis ChironAlfa RomeoLasarte
1934Luigi FagioliMercedes-BenzLasarte
1935Rudolf CaracciolaMercedes-BenzLasarte
1951Juan Manuel FangioAlfa RomeoPedralbes
1954Mike HawthornFerrariPedralbes
1967Jim ClarkLotus-CosworthJarama
1968Graham HillLotus-FordJarama
1969Jackie StewartMatra-FordMontjuic
1970Jackie StewartMarch-FordJarama
1971Jackie StewartTyrell-FordMontjuic
1972Emerson FittipaldiLotus-FordJarama
1973Emerson FittipaldiLotus-FordMontjuic
1974Niki LaudaFerraraJarama
1975Jochen MassMcLaren-FordJarama
1976James HuntMcLaren-FordJarama
1977Mario AndrettiLotus-FordJarama
1978Mario AndrettiLotus-FordJarama
1979Patrick DepaillerLigier-FordJarama
1980Alan JonesWilliams-FordJarama
1981Gilles VilleneuveFerrariJarama
1986Ayrton SennaLotus-RenaultJerez
1987Nigel MansellWilliams-HondaJerez
1988Alain ProstMcLaren-HondaJerez
1989Ayrton SennaMcLaren-HondaJerez
1990Alain ProstFerrariJerez
1991Nigel MansellWilliams-RenaultCatalunya
1992Nigel MansellWilliams-RenaultCatalunya
1993Alain ProstWilliams-RenaultCatalunya
1994Damon HillWilliams-RenaultCatalunya
1995Michael SchumacherBenetton-RenaultCatalunya
1996Michael SchumacherFerrariCatalunya
1997Jacques VilleneuveWilliams-RenaultCatalunya
1998Mika HakkinenMcLaren-MercedesCatalunya
1999Mika HakkinenMcLaren-MercedesCatalunya
2000Mika HakkinenMcLaren-MercedesCatalunya
2001Michael SchumacherFerrariCatalunya
2002Michael SchumacherFerrariCatalunya
2003Michael SchumacherFerrariCatalunya
2004Michael SchumacherFerrariCatalunya
2005Kimi RaikkonenMcLarenCatalunya
2006Fernando AlonsoRenaultCatalunya
2007Felipe MassaFerrariCatalunya
2008Kimi RaikkonenFerrariCatalunya
2009Jenson ButtonBrawnCatalunya
2010Mark WebberRed BullCatalunya
2011Sebastian VettelRed BullCatalunya
2012Pastor MaldonadoWilliamsCatalunya
2013Fernando AlonsoFerrariCatalunya
2014Lewis HamiltonMercedesCatalunya
2015Nico RosbergMercedesCatalunya
2016Max VerstappenRed BullCatalunya
2017Lewis HamiltonMercedesCatalunya
2018Lewis HamiltonMercedesCatalunya
2019Lewis HamiltonMercedesCatalunya