Spanish Grand Prix Predictions & Tips

Leigh Copson:

Lewis Hamilton’s win streak was brought to a halt in the second Silverstone race of the season, so can the defending world champion make a return to winning ways in this weekend’s Spanish Grand Prix?

Hamilton endured something of a nightmare start to the season as he failed to make the podium at the Austrian Grand Prix, but he responded in emphatic fashion over the next three races, turning pole position into victory on each occasion while also completing a pole position/fastest lap/race win treble in Hungary.

However, his most recent victory, in the British Grand Prix, did offer a glimpse of the disappointment that would come in last weekend’s 70th Anniversary Grand Prix at the Northamptonshire circuit. Hamilton had to contend with a wrecked tire during the final lap of the first race of the Silverstone double-header and had his tyre blown up any earlier he could have been pipped to the chequered flag by Max Verstappen. He held on to win though, but tyre issues plagued him once again a week ago and that presented Verstappen with the opportunity to finally claim his first race win of the season.

Verstappen took it and although he was able to limit the damage by finishing second, Hamilton admitted afterwards that he is ‘keeping an eye’ on the Red Bull man in the race to be crowned world champion this season. If the Dutchman can make it back-to-back wins on Sunday he will certainly send a message to the reigning world champion, but I expect it will be ‘business as usual’ for Hamilton and Mercedes at the Circuit de Catalunya, a track they have dominated at in recent years.

Hamilton has won this race in each of the last three seasons and has turned pole into victory in the last two. He has also recorded the fastest lap in two of those three victories, so I am backing the British star to shine on Saturday and Sunday to get back to winning ways in the best possible fashion.

Circuit Guide

The Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya was first opened back in 1991 and that same year it hosted the Spanish Grand Prix for the first time. It has hosted this race ever since and it also serves as the track for winter testing, meaning drivers and teams are very familiar with the track. Since it was first opened the course has undergone alterations and the 2.892-mile track now features one of the longest straights in Formula 1 as well as a variety of different corners that can prove to be challenging when conditions are windy. Michael Schumacher is the most successful Formula 1 driver in the history of this circuit, winning the Spanish Grand Prix at Catalunya on no less than six occasions, while Lewis Hamilton is the most successful active driver having won the race in three consecutive seasons between 2017 and 2019 to take his career haul to four Catalunya victories.

Location: Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain
Number of Laps: 66
Lap Length: 2.892 miles
Lap Record: Daniel Ricciardo, 1 minute, 18.441 (2018)

Spanish Grand Prix Winners

1913 Carlos de Salamanca Rolls-Royce Guadarrama
1923 Alberto Divo Sunbeam Sitges-Terramar
1926 Bartolomeo Costantini Bugatti Lasarte
1927 Robert Benoist Delage Lasarte
1928 Louis Chiron Bugatti Lasarte
1929 Louis Chiron Bugatti Lasarte
1933 Louis Chiron Alfa Romeo Lasarte
1934 Luigi Fagioli Mercedes-Benz Lasarte
1935 Rudolf Caracciola Mercedes-Benz Lasarte
1951 Juan Manuel Fangio Alfa Romeo Pedralbes
1954 Mike Hawthorn Ferrari Pedralbes
1967 Jim Clark Lotus-Cosworth Jarama
1968 Graham Hill Lotus-Ford Jarama
1969 Jackie Stewart Matra-Ford Montjuic
1970 Jackie Stewart March-Ford Jarama
1971 Jackie Stewart Tyrell-Ford Montjuic
1972 Emerson Fittipaldi Lotus-Ford Jarama
1973 Emerson Fittipaldi Lotus-Ford Montjuic
1974 Niki Lauda Ferrara Jarama
1975 Jochen Mass McLaren-Ford Jarama
1976 James Hunt McLaren-Ford Jarama
1977 Mario Andretti Lotus-Ford Jarama
1978 Mario Andretti Lotus-Ford Jarama
1979 Patrick Depailler Ligier-Ford Jarama
1980 Alan Jones Williams-Ford Jarama
1981 Gilles Villeneuve Ferrari Jarama
1986 Ayrton Senna Lotus-Renault Jerez
1987 Nigel Mansell Williams-Honda Jerez
1988 Alain Prost McLaren-Honda Jerez
1989 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda Jerez
1990 Alain Prost Ferrari Jerez
1991 Nigel Mansell Williams-Renault Catalunya
1992 Nigel Mansell Williams-Renault Catalunya
1993 Alain Prost Williams-Renault Catalunya
1994 Damon Hill Williams-Renault Catalunya
1995 Michael Schumacher Benetton-Renault Catalunya
1996 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Catalunya
1997 Jacques Villeneuve Williams-Renault Catalunya
1998 Mika Hakkinen McLaren-Mercedes Catalunya
1999 Mika Hakkinen McLaren-Mercedes Catalunya
2000 Mika Hakkinen McLaren-Mercedes Catalunya
2001 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Catalunya
2002 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Catalunya
2003 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Catalunya
2004 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Catalunya
2005 Kimi Raikkonen McLaren Catalunya
2006 Fernando Alonso Renault Catalunya
2007 Felipe Massa Ferrari Catalunya
2008 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari Catalunya
2009 Jenson Button Brawn Catalunya
2010 Mark Webber Red Bull Catalunya
2011 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Catalunya
2012 Pastor Maldonado Williams Catalunya
2013 Fernando Alonso Ferrari Catalunya
2014 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Catalunya
2015 Nico Rosberg Mercedes Catalunya
2016 Max Verstappen Red Bull Catalunya
2017 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Catalunya
2018 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Catalunya
2019 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Catalunya