Spanish Grand Prix Guide

Leigh Copson:
The Spanish Grand Prix at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya in Barcelona, Spain (Photo by David Davies/PA Archive/PA Images).

Bettingpro's guide to the Spanish Grand Prix and it's host venue, the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.

Circuit Guide

The Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya was first opened back in 1991 and that same year it hosted the Spanish Grand Prix for the first time. It has hosted this race ever since and it also serves as the track for winter testing, meaning drivers and teams are very familiar with the track. Since it was first opened the course has undergone alterations and the 2.892-mile track now features one of the longest straights in Formula 1 as well as a variety of different corners that can prove to be challenging when conditions are windy. Michael Schumacher is the most successful Formula 1 driver in the history of this circuit, winning the Spanish Grand Prix at Catalunya on no less than six occasions, while Lewis Hamilton is the most successful active driver having won the race in three consecutive seasons between 2017 and 2019 to take his career haul to four Catalunya victories.

Location: Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain
Number of Laps: 66
Lap Length: 2.892 miles
Lap Record: Daniel Ricciardo, 1 minute, 18.441 (2018)



Spanish Grand Prix Winners

1913Carlos de SalamancaRolls-RoyceGuadarrama
1923Alberto DivoSunbeamSitges-Terramar
1926Bartolomeo CostantiniBugattiLasarte
1927Robert BenoistDelageLasarte
1928Louis ChironBugattiLasarte
1929Louis ChironBugattiLasarte
1933Louis ChironAlfa RomeoLasarte
1934Luigi FagioliMercedes-BenzLasarte
1935Rudolf CaracciolaMercedes-BenzLasarte
1951Juan Manuel FangioAlfa RomeoPedralbes
1954Mike HawthornFerrariPedralbes
1967Jim ClarkLotus-CosworthJarama
1968Graham HillLotus-FordJarama
1969Jackie StewartMatra-FordMontjuic
1970Jackie StewartMarch-FordJarama
1971Jackie StewartTyrell-FordMontjuic
1972Emerson FittipaldiLotus-FordJarama
1973Emerson FittipaldiLotus-FordMontjuic
1974Niki LaudaFerraraJarama
1975Jochen MassMcLaren-FordJarama
1976James HuntMcLaren-FordJarama
1977Mario AndrettiLotus-FordJarama
1978Mario AndrettiLotus-FordJarama
1979Patrick DepaillerLigier-FordJarama
1980Alan JonesWilliams-FordJarama
1981Gilles VilleneuveFerrariJarama
1986Ayrton SennaLotus-RenaultJerez
1987Nigel MansellWilliams-HondaJerez
1988Alain ProstMcLaren-HondaJerez
1989Ayrton SennaMcLaren-HondaJerez
1990Alain ProstFerrariJerez
1991Nigel MansellWilliams-RenaultCatalunya
1992Nigel MansellWilliams-RenaultCatalunya
1993Alain ProstWilliams-RenaultCatalunya
1994Damon HillWilliams-RenaultCatalunya
1995Michael SchumacherBenetton-RenaultCatalunya
1996Michael SchumacherFerrariCatalunya
1997Jacques VilleneuveWilliams-RenaultCatalunya
1998Mika HakkinenMcLaren-MercedesCatalunya
1999Mika HakkinenMcLaren-MercedesCatalunya
2000Mika HakkinenMcLaren-MercedesCatalunya
2001Michael SchumacherFerrariCatalunya
2002Michael SchumacherFerrariCatalunya
2003Michael SchumacherFerrariCatalunya
2004Michael SchumacherFerrariCatalunya
2005Kimi RaikkonenMcLarenCatalunya
2006Fernando AlonsoRenaultCatalunya
2007Felipe MassaFerrariCatalunya
2008Kimi RaikkonenFerrariCatalunya

2009Jenson ButtonBrawnCatalunya
2010Mark WebberRed BullCatalunya
2011Sebastian VettelRed BullCatalunya
2012Pastor MaldonadoWilliamsCatalunya
2013Fernando AlonsoFerrariCatalunya
2014Lewis HamiltonMercedesCatalunya
2015Nico RosbergMercedesCatalunya
2016Max VerstappenRed BullCatalunya
2017Lewis HamiltonMercedesCatalunya
2018Lewis HamiltonMercedesCatalunya
2019Lewis HamiltonMercedesCatalunya