Russian Grand Prix Guide

Leigh Copson:
The Sochi Autdrom (Photo by HOCH ZWEI/DPA/PA Images).

Bettingpro's guide to the Russian Grand Prix and it's host venue, the Sochi Autodrom.

Circuit Guide

The Russian Grand Prix is one of the newer races on the Formula 1 calendar, having ended a 100-year absence when it returned in 2014. The Sochi International Street Circuit – now known as the Sochi Autodrom – was opened in September 2014 and it is the third longest circuit behind Spa-Francorchamps and Silverstone. A street track that runs around the complex where the 2014 Winter Olympics took place, the Sochi Autodrom and is one of the most demanding tracks the drivers will face during the season thanks to a string of corners – one single mistake could prove costly. Lewis Hamilton is the most successful driver at the circuit having won the Russian Grand Prix in four of the last six seasons, while there has never been a non-Mercedes winner since the race returned because Nico Rosberg and Valtteri Bottas – the other Mercedes drivers – took the chequered flag in 2016 and 2017.

Location: Sochi Autodrom, Sochi, Krasnodar Krai, Russia
Number of Laps: 53
Lap Length: 3.634 miles
Lap Record: Lewis Hamilton, 1 minute 35.761 seconds (2019)



Russian Grand Prix Winners

1913Georgy SuvorinBenzSt Petersburg
1914Willy SchollBenzSt Petersburg
2014Lewis HamiltonMercedesSochi Autodrom
2015Lewis HamiltonMercedesSochi Autodrom
2016Nico RosbergMercedesSochi Autodrom
2017Valtteri BottasMercedesSochi Autodrom
2018Lewis HamiltonMercedesSochi Autodrom
2019Lewis HamiltonMercedesSochi Autodrom