Monaco Grand Prix Guide

Leigh Copson:
General view of the track for the Monaco Grand Prix (Photo by Rondeau Pascal/ABACA/PA Images).

Bettingpro's guide to the Monaco Grand Prix and it's host venue, the Circuit de Monaco.

Circuit Guide

The Circuit de Monaco is one of the most famous circuits in motorsport, with its 2.074-mile circuit running through the streets of the Monte Carlo area of Monaco. It makes the Monaco Grand Prix one of the most eagerly-anticipated races of the year with hardcore and casual fans both tuning in to see the stars race on the famous street circuit. “Driving around Monaco is hair-raising,” Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton once told The Telegraph. “It is the most hard-core rollercoaster you can really imagine. Braking for turn one is really hard, trying to find the turning point and big bumps on the way in. All the way up the hill is really exciting. You can’t see the next corner. This place is just incredible.” Graham Hill earned the nickname “Mr Monaco” when he won this race five times during the 1960s, but it is the legendary Ayrton Senna who boasts the Circuit de Monaco record with six successes between 1987 and 1993.

Location: Circuit de Monaco, Monte Carlo, Monaco
Number of Laps: 78
Lap Length: 2.074 miles
Lap Record: Max Verstappen, 1 minute, 14.260 seconds (2018)



Monaco Grand Prix Winners

1929William Grover-WilliamsBugattiCircuit de Monaco
1930Rene DreyfusBugattiCircuit de Monaco
1931Louis ChironBugattiCircuit de Monaco
1932Tazio NuvolariAlfa RomeoCircuit de Monaco
1933Achille BarziBugattiCircuit de Monaco
1934Guy MollAlfa RomeoCircuit de Monaco
1935Luigi FagioliMercedesCircuit de Monaco
1936Rudolf CaracciolaMercedesCircuit de Monaco
1937Manfred von BrauchitschMercedesCircuit de Monaco
1948Giuseppe FarinaMaseratiCircuit de Monaco
1950Juan Manuel FangioAlfa RomeoCircuit de Monaco
1952Vittorio MarzottoFerrariCircuit de Monaco
1955Maurice TrintignantFerrariCircuit de Monaco
1956Stirling MossMaseratiCircuit de Monaco
1957Juan Manuel FangioMaseratiCircuit de Monaco
1958Maurice TrintignantCooper-ClimaxCircuit de Monaco
1959Jack BrabhamCooper-ClimaxCircuit de Monaco
1960Stirling MossLotus-ClimaxCircuit de Monaco
1961Stirling MossLotus-ClimaxCircuit de Monaco
1962Bruce McLarenCooper-ClimaxCircuit de Monaco
1963Graham HillBRMCircuit de Monaco
1964Graham HillBRMCircuit de Monaco
1965Graham HillBRMCircuit de Monaco
1966Jackie StewartBRMCircuit de Monaco
1967Denny HulmeBrabham-RepcoCircuit de Monaco
1968Graham HillLotus-FordCircuit de Monaco
1969Graham HullLotus-FordCircuit de Monaco
1970Jochen RindtLotus-FordCircuit de Monaco
1971Jackie StewartTyrrell-FordCircuit de Monaco
1972Jean-Pierre BeltoiseBRMCircuit de Monaco
1973Jackie StewartTyrrell-FordCircuit de Monaco
1974Ronnie PetersonLotus-FordCircuit de Monaco
1975Niki LaudaFerrariCircuit de Monaco
1976Niki LaudaFerrariCircuit de Monaco
1977Jody ScheckterWolf-FordCircuit de Monaco
1978Patrick DepaillerTyrrell-FordCircuit de Monaco
1979Jody ScheckterFerrariCircuit de Monaco
1980Carlos ReutemannWiliams-FordCircuit de Monaco
1981Gilles VilleneuveFerrariCircuit de Monaco
1982Riccardo PatreseBrabham-FordCircuit de Monaco
1983Keke RosbergWilliams-FordCircuit de Monaco
1984Alain ProstMcLaren-TAGCircuit de Monaco
1985Alain ProstMcLaren-TAGCircuit de Monaco
1986Alain ProstMcLaren-TAGCircuit de Monaco
1987Ayrton SennaLotus-HondaCircuit de Monaco
1988Alain ProstMcLaren-HondaCircuit de Monaco
1989Ayrton SennaMcLaren-HondaCircuit de Monaco
1990Ayrton SennaMcLaren-HondaCircuit de Monaco
1991Ayrton SennaMcLaren-HondaCircuit de Monaco
1992Ayrton SennaMcLaren-HondaCircuit de Monaco
1993Ayrton SennaMcLaren-FordCircuit de Monaco
1994Michael SchumacherBennetton-FordCircuit de Monaco
1995Michael SchumacherBennetton-RenaultCircuit de Monaco
1996Olivier PanisLigier-Mugen-HondaCircuit de Monaco
1997Michael SchumacherFerrariCircuit de Monaco
1998Mika HakkinenMcLaren-MercedesCircuit de Monaco
1999Michael SchumacherFerrariCircuit de Monaco
2000David CoulthardMcLaren-MercedesCircuit de Monaco
2001Michael SchumacherFerrariCircuit de Monaco
2002David CoulthardMcLaren-MercedesCircuit de Monaco
2003Juan Pablo MontoyaWilliams-BMWCircuit de Monaco
2004Jarno TrulliRenaultCircuit de Monaco
2005Kimi RaikkonenMcLaren-MercedesCircuit de Monaco
2006Fernando AlonsoRenaultCircuit de Monaco
2007Fernando AlonsoMcLaren-MercedesCircuit de Monaco
2008Lewis HamiltonMcLaren-MercedesCircuit de Monaco
2009Jenson ButtonBrawn-MercedesCircuit de Monaco
2010Mark WebberRed Bull-RenaultCircuit de Monaco
2011Sebastian VettelRed Bull-RenaultCircuit de Monaco
2012Mark WebberRed Bull-RenaultCircuit de Monaco
2013Nico RosbergMercedesCircuit de Monaco
2014Nico RosbergMercedesCircuit de Monaco
2015Nico RosbergMercedesCircuit de Monaco
2016Lewis HamiltonMercedesCircuit de Monaco
2017Sebastian VettelFerrariCircuit de Monaco
2018Daniel RicciardoRed BullCircuit de Monaco
2019Lewis HamiltonMercedesCircuit de Monaco