Mexican Grand Prix Betting Tips & Predictions

Dave Kuzio /
Mexican GP

The Mexican Grand Prix returns to the F1 schedule after missing out in 2020. Can Max Verstappen move a step closer to his first world championship title?

READ MORE: Check out our best Formula One tips & predictions

Mexican Grand Prix Betting Tips & Predictions

It’s safe to say that both Max Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton enjoy the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez circuit with two wins apiece.

Red Bull’s Verstappen won back-to-back races in Mexico in 2017 and 2018, while defending world champion Hamilton won his first race in 2016 before claiming victory two the last time the race was held in Mexico in 2019.

Verstappen leads the way at the top of the championship standings with 287.5 points thanks to eight wins, while Hamilton is 10 points behind with five wins under his belt.

It is definitely a two-horse race, but the battle to finish third overall is also interesting. Hamilton’s Mercedes partner Valtteri Bottas is in third place with 185, but Sergio Perez (150) and Lando Norris (149) are hot on his heels.

This is a Red Bull friendly track according to the experts, so I and going with them by saying that Verstappen will win this race. If he does win, I think he will ultimately go on to win the title. If he fails to take maximum points and Hamilton does, then I believe this will be the turning point in the race to become champion.

It has been a great season this year, the battle to win each race has been compelling, as has the fight to get on the podium. I am backing Perez to get the better of Bottas and Norris to finish on the podium.

Circuit Guide

Named after racing drivers Ricardo and Pedro Rodriguez, the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez returned to the Formula 1 calendar in 2015 after a 23-year absence from the schedule.

Made up of long straights and slow corners, it is a circuit that has struggled to capture the imagination of drivers, who concede the updated layout of the track is not nearly as challenging as the previous lay-out used between 1986 and 1992.

The Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez was a happy hunting ground for Mercedes when it returned, with Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton winning in 2015 and 2016 respectively, and following his 2019 success, Hamilton joins Max Verstappen as the only two-time winners of this race on the active driver list.

Location: Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, Mexico City, Mexico
Number Of Laps: 71
Lap Length: 2.674 miles
Lap Record: Valtteri Bottas, 1 minute, 18.741 seconds (2018)

Mexican Grand Prix Winners

1962 Trevor Taylor
Jim Clark
Lotus-Climax Magdalena Mixhuca
1963 Jim Clark Lotus-Climax Magdalena Mixhuca
1964 Dan Gurney Brabham-Climax Magdalena Mixhuca
1965 Richie Ginther Honda Magdalena Mixhuca
1966 John Surtees Cooper-Maserati Magdalena Mixhuca
1967 Jim Clark Lotus-Ford Magdalena Mixhuca
1968 Graham Hill Lotus-Ford Magdalena Mixhuca
1969 Denny Hulme McLaren-Ford Magdalena Mixhuca
1970 Jacky Ickx Ferrari Magdalena Mixhuca
1986 Gerhard Berger Benetton-BMW Hermanos Rodríguez
1987 Nigel Mansell Williams-Honda Hermanos Rodríguez
1988 Alain Prost McLaren-Honda Hermanos Rodríguez
1989 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda Hermanos Rodríguez
1990 Alain Prost Ferrari Hermanos Rodríguez
1991 Riccardo Patrese Williams-Renault Hermanos Rodríguez
1992 Nigel Mansell Williams-Renault Hermanos Rodríguez
2015 Nico Rosberg Mercedes Hermanos Rodríguez
2016 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Hermanos Rodríguez
2017 Max Verstappen Red Bull Hermanos Rodriguez
2018 Max Verstappen Red Bull Hermanos Rodriguez
2019 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Hermanos Rodriguez

Latest Offers


18+ only. New Customers only. Bet £10* & Get £30* in Free Bets. Sign up, deposit between £5* and £10* to your account and bet365 will give you three times that value in Free Bets when you place qualifying bets to the same value and they are settled. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits. Min odds/bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. T&Cs, time limits & exclusions apply. *or currency equivalent.

T&C’s Apply. New cus only. Opt-in & deposit req. 7 days to deposit and stake £10 minimum bet at odds of 1.5 or greater to qualify. Max 3x £10 free bets credited on bet settlement. Free bets must be used on 4 or more selections with selection odds of 1.3 or greater. Free bets are non-withdrawable and stake not returned with winnings. 7 day expiry.

New Customer offer. Place a min £10 bet on the Sportsbook on odds of min 1/2 (1.5), get £30 in Free Bets. Rewards valid for 30 days. SMS verification required. Only deposits via cards will qualify. T&Cs apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

New customer offer. Max £/€10 refund. Sportsbook only. Payment restrictions apply. T&Cs apply.

This offer is valid to new sports customers only. This promotion is valid until 31/12/2023 22:59 GMT. This promotion is valid once for players who have opted in before placing their first bet. If a player’s first bet loses, a £5 Free Bet will be assigned to their account. The minimum bet to qualify is £5. The maximum Free Bet amount from this promotion is £5. The maximum win from a Free Bet is capped at £100. If bets are void then no reward will be given and your initial bet amount will be refunded. 18+ only. Terms & conditions apply.

New customers. Max £10. 100% Odds Boost token. Keep it fun - set your deposit limit. T&Cs apply.

New 18+ UK customers only. Register using the promo code WELCOME40, deposit and place first bet of £10+ on Sports (cumulative Evens+) within 7 days of registration. First bet must be on Sports. £30 in Free Bets and £10 in Free Spins (50x20p) credited within 10 hours of bet settlement. Free Bet stakes are not included in any returns. Bonuses have a 7-day expiry. Payment restrictions apply. SMS verification and/or Proof of I.D and address may be required. Full T&Cs apply.

New UK, IE & Malta customers only. Min £10/€10 first deposit using Debit Card. Place a bet of £10 at min odds of 1.5. Free bets expire in 90 days. 18+. Full T&Cs apply.