Mexican Grand Prix Betting Tips & Predictions

READ MORE: Check out our best Formula One tips & predictions

Mexican Grand Prix Betting Tips & Predictions

It’s safe to say that both Max Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton enjoy the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez circuit with two wins apiece.

Red Bull’s Verstappen won back-to-back races in Mexico in 2017 and 2018, while defending world champion Hamilton won his first race in 2016 before claiming victory two the last time the race was held in Mexico in 2019.

Verstappen leads the way at the top of the championship standings with 287.5 points thanks to eight wins, while Hamilton is 10 points behind with five wins under his belt.

It is definitely a two-horse race, but the battle to finish third overall is also interesting. Hamilton’s Mercedes partner Valtteri Bottas is in third place with 185, but Sergio Perez (150) and Lando Norris (149) are hot on his heels.

This is a Red Bull friendly track according to the experts, so I and going with them by saying that Verstappen will win this race. If he does win, I think he will ultimately go on to win the title. If he fails to take maximum points and Hamilton does, then I believe this will be the turning point in the race to become champion.

It has been a great season this year, the battle to win each race has been compelling, as has the fight to get on the podium. I am backing Perez to get the better of Bottas and Norris to finish on the podium.

Circuit Guide

Named after racing drivers Ricardo and Pedro Rodriguez, the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez returned to the Formula 1 calendar in 2015 after a 23-year absence from the schedule.

Made up of long straights and slow corners, it is a circuit that has struggled to capture the imagination of drivers, who concede the updated layout of the track is not nearly as challenging as the previous lay-out used between 1986 and 1992.

The Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez was a happy hunting ground for Mercedes when it returned, with Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton winning in 2015 and 2016 respectively, and following his 2019 success, Hamilton joins Max Verstappen as the only two-time winners of this race on the active driver list.

Location: Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, Mexico City, Mexico
Number Of Laps: 71
Lap Length: 2.674 miles
Lap Record: Valtteri Bottas, 1 minute, 18.741 seconds (2018)

Mexican Grand Prix Winners

1962Trevor Taylor
Jim Clark
Lotus-ClimaxMagdalena Mixhuca
1963Jim ClarkLotus-ClimaxMagdalena Mixhuca
1964Dan GurneyBrabham-ClimaxMagdalena Mixhuca
1965Richie GintherHondaMagdalena Mixhuca
1966John SurteesCooper-MaseratiMagdalena Mixhuca
1967Jim ClarkLotus-FordMagdalena Mixhuca
1968Graham HillLotus-FordMagdalena Mixhuca
1969Denny HulmeMcLaren-FordMagdalena Mixhuca
1970Jacky IckxFerrariMagdalena Mixhuca
1986Gerhard BergerBenetton-BMWHermanos Rodríguez
1987Nigel MansellWilliams-HondaHermanos Rodríguez
1988Alain ProstMcLaren-HondaHermanos Rodríguez
1989Ayrton SennaMcLaren-HondaHermanos Rodríguez
1990Alain ProstFerrariHermanos Rodríguez
1991Riccardo PatreseWilliams-RenaultHermanos Rodríguez
1992Nigel MansellWilliams-RenaultHermanos Rodríguez
2015Nico RosbergMercedesHermanos Rodríguez
2016Lewis HamiltonMercedesHermanos Rodríguez
2017Max VerstappenRed BullHermanos Rodriguez
2018Max VerstappenRed BullHermanos Rodriguez
2019Lewis HamiltonMercedesHermanos Rodriguez

Latest Offers