Japanese Grand Prix Guide

Leigh Copson /
Suzuka Circuit in Suzuka, Japan (Photo by Mirko Stange/DPA/PA Images).

Bettingpro's guide to the Japanese Grand Prix and it's host venue, the Suzuka International Racing Course.

Circuit Guide

The Suzuka International Racing Course has featured on the Formula 1 calendar since 1987, with the Japanese Grand Prix only moving away from this circuit in 2007 and 2008 while renovations were made to make it compliant for the 2009 Formula 1 season. It boasts a series of challenging corners that require drivers to be at their best at all times, while limited run-off areas mean drivers will often find themselves out of the race if they make the slightest mistake. Suzuka is easily one of the toughest – if not the toughest – courses on the Formula 1 calendar and therefore it is no surprise that it remains popular with both drivers and fans. Lewis Hamilton has won the race in four of the past six seasons to take his Japanese Grand Prix tally to five wins, and that means he is now just one behind record-setter Michael Schumacher, who won this race for the sixth and final time in 2004. Remarkably, since then no Ferrari driver has won this race!

Location: Suzuka International Racing Course, Suzuka, Japan
Number Of Laps: 53
Lap Length: 3.608 milers
Lap Record: Lewis Hamilton, 1 minute 30.983 seconds (2019)



Japanese Grand Prix Winners

1976 Mario Andretti Lotus-Ford Fuji
1977 James Hunt McLaren-Ford Fuji
1987 Gerhard Berger Ferrari Suzuka
1988 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda Suzuka
1989 Alessandro Nannini Benetton-Ford Suzuka
1990 Nelson Piquet Benetton-Ford Suzuka
1991 Gerhard Berger McLaren-Honda Suzuka
1992 Riccardo Patrese Williams-Renault Suzuka
1993 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Ford Suzuka
1994 Damon Hill Williams-Renault Suzuka
1995 Michael Schumacher Benetton-Renault Suzuka
1996 Damon Hill Williams-Renault Suzuka
1997 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Suzuka
1998 Mika Hakkinen McLaren-Mercedes Suzuka
1999 Mika Hakkinen McLaren-Mercedes Suzuka
2000 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Suzuka
2001 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Suzuka
2002 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Suzuka
2003 Rubens Barrichello Ferrari Suzuka
2004 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Suzuka
2005 Kimi Raikkonen McLaren-Mercedes Suzuka
2006 Fernando Alonso Renault Suzuka
2007 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes Fuji
2008 Fernando Alonso Renault Fuji
2009 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault Suzuka
2010 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault Suzuka
2011 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes Suzuka
2012 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault Suzuka
2013 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault Suzuka
2014 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Suzuka
2015 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Suzuka
2016 Nico Rosberg Mercedes Suzuka
2017 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Suzuka
2018 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Suzuka
2019 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes Suzuka