Hungarian Grand Prix Predictions & Tips

Dave Kuzio:
Hungarian GP

Lewis Hamilton will be looking to claim his 100th Grand Prix victory and become the first driver to win three successive Hungarian Grand Prix’s, but overall leader Max Verstappen will have something to say about that.

READ MORE: Back Lewis Hamilton to finish on the podium at the Hungarian Grand Prix

Hungarian Grand Prix Predictions & Tips

The battle to be crowned 2021 World Champion continues in Hungary this weekend with Lewis Hamilton looking to close the gap on leader Max Verstappen – and possibly overtake him.

Verstappen leads the current standings with 185 points and five wins, while Hamilton is hot on his heels with four victories and 177 points.

There was a lot of drama in the last race at the British Grand Prix, with Verstappen crashing out following an incident with Hamilton – and the Brit took full advantage by going on to win the race and record his 99th Grand Prix victory.

A war of words has ensued since the race at Silverstone, and it will be interesting to see how both drivers approach this race. Will Verstappen be aggressive from the start and try and gain a measure of revenge on Hamilton, or will he remain focused and race his own race and beat Hamilton were it will hurt the most – by finishing on top of the podium?

The Dutch driver cannot afford to be a hothead, he needs to avoid getting into a spat with Hamilton both on and off the track. He needs to be fully focused and not worry about what the Brit says or does.

I think Verstappen is more switched on than people think. He will give the impression that he is out for revenge, and that could make Hamilton think more about the corners, and this will give Verstappen the advantage and I am backing the Red Bull driver to go on and win the Hungarian Grand Prix.

Another British driver is having an outstanding season. He sits third on the overall rankings, if he could end the campaign in third with his McLaren it would be a massive achievement for the 21-year-old. I am backing him to finish on the podium in Hungary.

Circuit Guide

The Hungaroring has played host to the Hungarian Grand Prix since it returned to the Formula 1 calendar in 1986. F1 chief Bernie Ecclestone had been aiming to introduce a Russian Grand Prix to the schedule but opted for Hungary instead, and plans for a street circuit were then shelved in 1985 in favour of a new track – Hungaroring – that was built in less than a year and ready for the 1986 season. The circuit is very similar in lay-out to the Monte Carlo street track used for the Monaco Grand Prix, with tight and twisting corners making it difficult to overtake. Conditions are usually hot and dry so drivers also have to battle with what is a notoriously bumpy surface, but that has not prevented it from being a venue that has hosted some memorable races over the years. Lewis Hamilton holds the record for most Hungarian Grand Prix victories after his 2020 success saw him become an eight-time winner. Only one other active driver, Sebastian Vettel, has won this race more than once, while only three drivers – Hamilton, Mika Hakkinen and Jacques Villeneuve – have managed back-to-back Hungarian Grand Prix victories in the past 20 years.

Location: Hungaroring, Mogyorod, Hungary
Number Of Laps: 70
Lap Length: 2.722 miles
Lap Record: Lewis Hamilton, 1 minutes 16.627 seconds (2020)

Hungarian Grand Prix Winners

1936 Tazio Nuvolari Alfa Romeo Nepliget
1986 Nelson Piquet Williams-Honda Hungaroring
1987 Nelson Piquet Williams-Honda Hungaroring
1988 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda Hungaroring
1989 Nigel Mansell Ferrari Hungaroring
1990 Thierry Boutsen Williams-Renault Hungaroring
1991 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda Hungaroring
1992 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda Hungaroring
1993 Damon Hill Williams-Renault Hungaroring
1994 Michael Schumacher Benetton-Ford Hungaroring
1995 Damon Hill Williams-Renault Hungaroring
1996 Jacques Villeneuve Williams-Renault Hungaroring
1997 Jacques Villeneuve Williams-Renault Hungaroring
1998 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Hungaroring
1999 Mika Hakkinen McLaren-Mercedes Hungaroring
2000 Mika Hakkinen McLaren-Mercedes Hungaroring
2001 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Hungaroring
2002 Rubens Barrichello Ferrari Hungaroring
2003 Fernando Alonso Renault Hungaroring
2004 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Hungaroring
2005 Kimi Raikkonen McLaren-Mercedes Hungaroring
2006 Jenson Button Honda Hungaroring
2007 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes Hungaroring
2008 Heikki Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes Hungaroring
2009 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes Hungaroring
2010 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault Hungaroring
2011 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes Hungaroring
2012 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes Hungaroring
2013 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Hungaroring
2014 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull-Renault Hungaroring
2015 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari Hungaroring
2016 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Hungaroring
2017 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari Hungaroring
2018 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Hungaroring
2019 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Hungaroring
2020 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Hungaroring