German Grand Prix Guide

Leigh Copson /
Aerial view of Hockenheimring (Photo by Uli Deck/DPA/PA Images).

Bettingpro's guide to the German Grand Prix and it's host venue, the Hockenheimring.

Circuit Guide

The famous Hockenheimring circuit made its Formula 1 debut back in 1977 and since that date has hosted all but a handful of German Grand Prix. However, to many this is a track that is a shell of its former self having undergone some serious modifications over the years, while being drastically shortened, but those changes were necessary for safety reasons following several driver accidents over the years. The German Grand Prix remains a popular leg of the season, but Formula 1 officials continue to deal with the track on a yearly basis and that means there is always a dark cloud hanging over the Hockenheimring when it comes to its long-term future. One man who will be hoping it stays on is Lewis Hamilton – three of his four German Grand Prix wins have been at this track and out of the current active line-up he is by far the most successful driver in this leg of the F1 roadshow.

Location: Hockenheimring, Hockenheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Number of Laps: 67
Lap Length: 2.842 miles
Lap Record: Kimi Raikkonen, 1 minute, 13.780 seconds (2004)



German Grand Prix Winner

1926 Rudolf Caracciola Mercedes AVUS Berlin
1927 Otto Merz Mercedes Nurburgring Gesamtstrecke
1928 Rudolf Caracciola
Christian Werner
Mercedes Nurburgring Gesamtstrecke
1929 Louis Chiron Bugatti Nurburgring Gesamtstrecke
1931 Rudolf Caracciola Mercedes Nurburgring Nordschleife
1932 Rudolf Caracciola Alfa Romeo Nurburgring Nordschleife
1934 Hans Stuck Auto Union Nurburgring Nordschleife
1935 Tazio Nuvolari Alfa Romeo Nurburgring Nordschleife
1936 Bernd Rosemeyer Auto Union Nurburgring Nordschleife
1937 Rudolf Caracciola Mercedes Nurburgring Nordschleife
1938 Richard Seaman Mercedes Nurburgring Nordschleife
1939 Rudolf Caracciola Mercedes Nurburgring Nordschleife
1950 Alberto Ascari Ferrari Nurburgring Nordschleife
1951 Alberto Ascari Ferrari Nurburgring Nordschleife
1952 Alberto Ascari Ferrari Nurburgring Nordschleife
1953 Giuseppe Farina Ferrari Nurburgring Nordschleife
1954 Juan Manuel Fangio Mercedes Nurburgring Nordschleife
1956 Juan Manuel Fangio Ferrari Nurburgring Nordschleife
1957 Juan Manuel Fangio Maserati Nurburgring Nordschleife
1958 Tony Brooks Vanwall Nurburgring Nordschleife
1959 Tony Brooks Ferrari AVUS Berlin
1960 Joakim Bonnier Porsche Nurburgring Sudschleife
1961 Stirling Moss Lotus-Climax Nurburgring Nordschleife
1962 Graham Hill BRM Nurburgring Nordschleife
1963 John Surtees Ferrari Nurburgring Nordschleife
1964 John Surtees Ferrari Nurburgring Nordschleife
1965 Jim Clark Lotus-Climax Nurburgring Nordschleife
1966 Jack Brabham Brabham-Repco Nurburgring Nordschleife
1967 Denny Hulme Brabham-Repco Nurburgring Nordschleife
1968 Jackie Stewart Matra-Ford Nurburgring Nordschleife
1969 Jacky Ickx Brabham-Ford Nurburgring Nordschleife
1970 Jochen Rindt Lotus-Ford Hockenheimring
1971 Jackie Stewart Tyrrell-Ford Nurburgring Nordschleife
1972 Jacky Ickx Ferrari Nurburgring Nordschleife
1973 Jackie Stewart Tyrrell-Ford Nurburgring Nordschleife
1974 Clay Regazzoni Ferrari Nurburgring Nordschleife
1975 Carlos Reutemann Brabham-Ford Nurburgring Nordschleife
1976 James Hunt McLaren-Ford Nurburgring Nordschleife
1977 Niki Lauda Ferrari Hockenheimring
1978 Mario Andretti Lotus-Ford Hockenheimring
1979 Alan Jones Williams-Ford Hockenheimring
1980 Jacques Laffite Ligier-Ford Hockenheimring
1981 Nelson Piquet Brabham-Ford Hockenheimring
1982 Patrick Tambay Ferrari Hockenheimring
1983 Rene Arnoux Ferrari Hockenheimring
1984 Alain Prost McLaren-TAG Hockenheimring
1985 Michele Alboreto Ferrari Nurburgring GP-Strecke
1986 Nelson Piquet Williams-Honda Hockenheimring
1987 Nelson Piquet Williams-Honda Hockenheimring
1988 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda Hockenheimring
1989 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda Hockenheimring
1990 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda Hockenheimring
1991 Nigel Mansell Williams-Renault Hockenheimring
1992 Nigel Mansell Williams-Renault Hockenheimring
1993 Alain Prost Williams-Renault Hockenheimring
1994 Gerhard Berger Ferrari Hockenheimring
1995 Michael Schumacher Benetton-Renault Hockenheimring
1996 Damon Hill Williams-Renault Hockenheimring
1997 Gerhard Berger Benetton-Renault Hockenheimring
1998 Mika Hakkinen McLaren-Mercedes Hockenheimring
1999 Eddie Irvine Ferrari Hockenheimring
2000 Rubens Barrichello Ferrari Hockenheimring
2001 Ralf Schumacher Williams-BMW Hockenheimring
2002 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Hockenheimring
2003 Juan Pablo Montoya Williams-BMW Hockenheimring
2004 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Hockenheimring
2005 Fernando Alonso Renault Hockenheimring
2006 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Hockenheimring
2008 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes Hockenheimring
2009 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault Nurburgring GP-Strecke
2010 Fernando Alonso Ferrari Hockenheimring
2011 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes Nurburgring GP-Strecke
2012 Fernando Alonso Ferrari Hockenheimring
2013 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault Nurburgring GP-Strecke
2014 Nico Rosberg Mercedes Hockenheimring
2016 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Hockenheimring
2018 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Hockenheimring
2019 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing-Honda Hockenheimring