French Grand Prix Guide

Leigh Copson:
General view of the French Grand Prix at Circuit Paul Ricard (Photo by Patrick Blanchard/Maxppp/PA Images).

Bettingpro's guide to the French Grand Prix and it's host venue, the Circuit Paul Ricard.

Circuit Guide

The Circuit Paul Ricard first hosted the French Grand Prix in 1971 and became the on-off home for this race over the next couple of decades before being dropped in favour of Magny-Cours in 1991. The France leg of the season as eventually dropped in 2008, but when it returned in 2018 it was announced that Circuit Paul Ricard would once again be the host track. An incredibly flat circuit that boasts a one-mile long straight, sweeping corners and several long run-off areas, this track is well known for high-speed racing that offers plenty of opportunities to overtake throughout a lap of the circuit. So far it has been Lewis Hamilton who has got to grips with this track the best, winning the French Grand Prix in each of its first two seasons back on the Formula 1 schedule.

Location: Circuit Paul Ricard, Le Castellet, France
Number of Laps: 53
Lap Length: 3.630 miles
Lap Record: Sebastian Vettel, 1 minute, 32.740 seconds (2019)



French Grand Prix Winners

1906Ferenc SziszRenaultLe Mans
1907Felice NazzaroFiatDieppe
1908Christian LautenschlagerMercedesDieppe
1912Georges BoillotPeugeotDieppe
1913Georges BoillotPeugeotAmiens
1914Christian LautenschlagerMercedesLyon
1921Jimmy MurphyDuesenbergLe Mans
1922Felice NazzaroFiatStrasbourg
1923Henry SegraveSunbeamTours
1924Giuseppe CampariAlfa RomeoLyon
1925Robert Benoist
Albert Divo
1926Jules GouxBugattiMiramas
1927Robert BenoistDelageMontlhery
1928William Grover-WilliamsBugattiSaint-Gaudens
1929William Grover-WilliamsBugattiLe Mans
1930Philippe EtancelinBugattiPau
1931Louis Chiron
Achille Varzi
1932Tazio NuvolariAlfa RomeoReims
1933Giuseppe CampariMaseratiMontlhery
1934Louis ChironAlfa RomeoMontlhery
1935Rudolf CaracciolaMercedes-BenzMontlhery
1936Jean-Pierre Wimille
Raymond Sommer
1937Louis ChironTalbotMontlhery
1938Manfred von BrauchitschMercedesReims
1939Hermann Paul MullerAuto UnionReims
1947Louis ChironTalbot-LagoLyon-Parilly
1948Jean-Pierre WimilleAlfa RomeoReims
1949Louis ChironTalbot-LagoReims
1949Charles PozziDelahayeSaint-Gaudens
1950Juan Manuel FangioAlfa RomeoReims
1951Luigi Fagioli
Juan Manuel Fangio
Alfa RomeoReims
1952Alberto AscariFerrariRouen
1953Mike HawthornFerrariReims
1954Juan Manuel FangioMercedesReims
1956Peter CollinsFerrariReims
1957Juan Manuel FangioMaseratiRouen
1958Mike HawthornFerrariReims
1959Tony BrooksFerrariReims
1960Jack BrabhamCooper-ClimaxReims
1961Giancarlo BaghettiFerrariReims
1962Dan GurneyPorscheRouen
1963Jim ClarkLotus-ClimaxReims
1964Dan GurneyBrabham-ClimaxRouen
1965Jim ClarkLotus-ClimaxCharade
1966Jack BrabhamBrabham-RepcoReims
1967Jack BrabhamBrabham-RepcoLe Mans
1968Jacky IckxFerrariRouen
1969Jackie StewartMatra-FordCharade
1970Jochen RindtLotus-FordCharade
1971Jackie StewartTyrrell-FordPaul Ricard
1972Jackie StewartTyrrell-FordCharade
1973Ronnie PetersonLotus-FordPaul Ricard
1974Ronnie PetersonLotus-FordDijon
1975Niki LaudaFerrariPaul Ricard
1976James HuntMcLaren-FordPaul Ricard
1977Mario AndrettiLotus-FordDijon
1978Mario AndrettiLotus-FordPaul Ricard
1979Jean-Pierre JabouilleRenaultDijon
1980Alan JonesWilliams-FordPaul Ricard
1981Alain ProstRenaultDijon
1982Rene ArnouxRenaultPaul Ricard
1983Alain ProstRenaultPaul Ricard
1984Niki LaudaMcLaren-TAGDijon
1985Nelson PiquetBrabham-BMWPaul Ricard
1986Nigel MansellWilliams-HondaPaul Ricard
1987Nigel MansellWilliams-HondaPaul Ricard
1988Alain ProstMcLaren-HondaPaul Ricard
1989Alain ProstMcLaren-HondaPaul Ricard
1990Alain ProstFerrariPaul Ricard
1991Nigel MansellWilliams-RenaultMagny-Cours
1992Nigel MansellWilliams-RenaultMagny-Cours
1993Alain ProstWilliams-RenaultMagny-Cours
1994Michael SchumacherBenetton-FordMagny-Cours
1995Michael SchumacherBenetton-RenaultMagny-Cours
1996Damon HillWilliams-RenaultMagny-Cours
1997Michael SchumacherFerrariMagny-Cours
1998Michael SchumacherFerrariMagny-Cours
1999Heinz-Harald FrentzenJordan-Mugen-HondaMagny-Cours
2000David CoulthardMcLaren-MercedesMagny-Cours
2001Michael SchumacherFerrariMagny-Cours
2002Michael SchumacherFerrariMagny-Cours
2003Ralf SchumacherWilliams-BMWMagny-Cours
2004Michael SchumacherFerrariMagny-Cours
2005Fernando AlonsoRenaultMagny-Cours
2006Michael SchumacherFerrariMagny-Cours
2007Kimi RaikkonenFerrariMagny-Cours
2008Felipe MassaFerrariMagny-Cours
2018Lewis HamiltonMercedesPaul Ricard
2019Lewis HamiltonMercedesPaul Ricard