Chinese Grand Prix Guide

Leigh Copson:
Shanghai International Circuit in Shanghai, China (Photo by Glenn Dunbar/Imago/PA Images).

Bettingpro's guide to the Chinese Grand Prix and it's host venue, the Shanghai International Circuit.

Circuit Guide

The Shanghai International Circuit was completed in 2004 ahead of the first ever Formula 1 race to take place in the city, and at the time it was the most expensive circuit in the history of the spot, having cost a colossal $240million. The circuit is just over three miles long and the layout resembles the Chinese character ‘shang’, which means ‘high’ or ‘above[. The track features two high-speed straights, but on the whole it does provide a test for its drivers because over three quarters of a lap around the Shanghai International Circuit has them cornering. That means while raw speed is an important factor, the winner will have to be on their game too to complete all 56 laps and take the chequered flag. Michael Schumacher produced a masterful lap to set the lap record back in 2004, but former world champion Lewis Hamilton is the most successful driver in the history of this track by some distance, having won the Chinese Grand Prix on six occasions.

Location: Shanghai International Circuit, Shanghai, China
Number of Laps: 56
Lap Length: 3.387 miles
Lap Record: Michael Schumacher, 1 minute 32.238 seconds (2004)



Chinese Grand Prix Winners

2004Rubens BarrichelloFerrariShanghai International Circuit
2005Fernando AlonsoRenaultShanghai International Circuit
2006Michael SchumacherFerrariShanghai International Circuit
2007Kimi RaikkonenFerrariShanghai International Circuit
2008Lewis HamiltonMcLarenShanghai International Circuit
2009Sebastian VettelRed BullShanghai International Circuit
2010Jenson ButtonMcLarenShanghai International Circuit
2011Lewis HamiltonMcLarenShanghai International Circuit
2012Nico RosbergMercedesShanghai International Circuit
2013Fernando AlonsoFerrariShanghai International Circuit
2014Lewis HamiltonMercedesShanghai International Circuit
2015Lewis HamiltonMercedesShanghai International Circuit
2016Nico RosbergMercedesShanghai International Circuit
2017Lewis HamiltonMercedesShanghai International Circuit
2018Daniel RicciardoRed BullShanghai International Circuit
2019Lewis HamiltonMercedesShanghai International Circuit