Canadian Grand Prix Guide, Betting Odds, Tips & Predictions:

READ MORECheck out our free Formula One race tips for the 2022 season


The 2022 Formula One season is in danger of turning into a one-horse race if Ferrari don’t sort out their recent problems.

It looked like Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc was going to be a genuine title challenger to champion Max Verstappen, but he has not finished on the podium since the Miami Grand Prix on May 8.

Engine problems and strategy confusion has seen him drop off the pace. He is in third place with 116 points and is 34 points behind leader Verstappen.

The defending champion has won five races this season, and his nearest contender is Red Bull team-mate Sergio Perez. When it comes down to it, Red Bull will push their number one driver to go for the title – and that is Verstappen.

Perez’s main role is to protect Verstappen, but if the champion crashes out then Perez will have the green light to push on for constructor’s points and keep Verstappen in contention.

Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton loves the Gilles Villeneuve circuit in Montreal with seven victories, but unless the top three drivers fail to finish, I cannot see him claiming his eighth success and going ahead of Michael Schumacher with the most wins in Canada.

In fact, the only Mercedes driver who could finish on the podium is George Russell. The King’s Lynn-born driver is having a great season, he is fourth overall with 99 points and a few more podium finishes will see him genuinely challenge for a top-three finish.

Verstappen is head and shoulders above everyone else and I am backing him to record win number six and move closer to back-to-back championships.

For the podium finish, I am going with Verstappen, Perez and Russell with Leclerc ending the race in fourth place.

Circuit Guide

The Circuit Gilles Villeneuve began hosting the Canadian Grand Prix in 1982, with the legendary Gilles Villeneuve winning the first F1 race to be held there, and with the exception of 1987 and 2009 it has hosted this race ever since. The circuit has undergone a number of changes since the early 90s and they have paid off because this track is now one of the most popular venues on the Formula 1 calendar with both drivers and fans. There are plenty of opportunities to overtake and that means there is never a shortage of drama as drivers battle for positions. Michael Schumacher had long been the most successful driver in the history of Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, having won the race seven times, but he is no longer alone at the top of the all-time list after Lewis Hamilton won here for the seventh time in 2019. This will be the first Canadian Grand Prix since Hamilton’s last win.

Location: Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Number of Laps: 70
Lap Length: 2.709 miles
Lap Record: Valtteri Bottas, 1 minute, 13.078 seconds (2019)

Canadian Grand Prix Winners

1961Peter RyanLotus-ClimaxMosport Park
1962Masten GregoryLotus-ClimaxMosport Park
1963Pedro RodriguezFerrariMosport Park
1964Pedro RodriguezFerrariMosport Park
1965Jim HallChaparral-ChevroletMosport Park
1966Mark DonohueLola-ChevroletMosport Park
1967Jack BrabhamBrabham-RepcoMosport Park
1968Denny HulmeMcLaren-FordMont-Tremblant
1969Jacky IckxBrabham-FordMosport Park
1970Jacky IckxFerrariMont-Tremblant
1971Jackie StewartTyrrell-FordMosport Park
1972Jackie StewartTyrrell-FordMosport Park
1973Peter RevsonMcLaren-FordMosport Park
1974Emerson FittipaldiMcLaren-FordMosport Park
1976James HuntMcLaren-FordMosport Park
1977Jody ScheckterWolf-FordMosport Park
1978Gilles VilleneuveFerrariCircuit Ile Notre-Dame
1979Alan JonesWilliams-FordCircuit Ile Notre-Dame
1980Alan JonesWilliams-FordCircuit Ile Notre-Dame
1981Jacques LaffiteLigier-MatraCircuit Ile Notre-Dame
1982Nelson PiquetBrabham-BMWCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
1983Rene ArnouxFerrariCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
1984Nelson PiquetBrabham-BMWCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
1985Michele AlboretoFerrariCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
1986Nigel MansellWilliams-HondaCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
1988Ayrton SennaMcLaren-HondaCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
1989Thierry BoutsenWilliams-RenaultCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
1990Ayrton SennaMcLaren-HondaCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
1991Nelson PiquetBenetton-FordCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
1992Gerhard BergerMcLaren-HondaCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
1993Alain ProstWilliams-RenaultCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
1994Michael SchumacherBenetton-FordCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
1995Jean AlesiFerrariCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
1996Damon HillWilliams-RenaultCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
1997Michael SchumacherFerrariCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
1998Michael SchumacherFerrariCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
1999Mika HakkinenMcLaren-MercedesCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
2000Michael SchumacherFerrariCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
2001Ralf SchumacherWilliams-BMWCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
2002Michael SchumacherFerrariCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
2003Michael SchumacherFerrariCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
2004Michael SchumacherFerrariCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
2005Kimi RaikkonenMcLaren-MercedesCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
2006Fernando AlonsoRenaultCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
2007Lewis HamiltonMcLaren-MercedesCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
2008Robert KubicaBMW SauberCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
2010Lewis HamiltonMcLaren-MercedesCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
2011Jenson ButtonMcLaren-MercedesCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
2012Lewis HamiltonMcLaren-MercedesCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
2013Sebastian VettelRed Bull-RenaultCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
2014Daniel RicciardoRed Bull-RenaultCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
2015Lewis HamiltonMercedesCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
2016Lewis HamiltonMercedesCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
2017Lewis HamiltonMercedesCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
2018Sebastian VettelFerrariCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
2019Lewis HamiltonMercedesCircuit Gilles Villeneuve