British Grand Prix Predictions & Tips

Leigh Copson:

Lewis Hamilton returns home atop the Drivers’ Championship standings after three races, but will the defending champion increase his lead at the summit with more Silverstone success over the course of this weekend?

READ MORE: Find out how you can get 20/1 on ANY British driver to finish on the podium at Silverstone!

Hamilton endured a pretty miserable start to the season as penalties in both qualifying and the race cost him points, but the Mercedes ace has bounced back in emphatic fashion to overhaul team-mate Valtteri Bottas in the standings. Hamilton took the chequered flag in the first ever Styrian Grand Prix before posting a dominant victory in the Hungarian Grand Prix a week later, and that has set him up nicely for his return home to the United Kingdom for the first of two back-to-back race weekends at Silverstone.

But can the defending world champion continue his hot streak with victory in the British Grand Prix, or will team-mate Bottas answer back by recording his second race win of the season. One thing that is for sure is that Ferrari will not be getting in the way of the Mercedes pair – team chairman John Elkann has admitted the team will not be competitive again until at least 2022 following a truly miserable start to the season that has seen Charles Leclerc and Sebastian Vettel combine for just 27 points, putting them fourth in the standings behind Mercedes, Red Bull, McLaren and Racing Point.

It is difficult to see Red Bull denying the Mercedes pair either – they are 66 points behind Hamilton and Bottas in the Constructors’ Championship so if you are looking to back a race winner this weekend you simply cannot look past the Silver Arrows. The question is, which one of them will be victorious? The answer has to be Lewis Hamilton.

The British star became the most successful driver in the history of his historic race when he took the chequered flag for the sixth time in his career in 2019, and he has not won this race in five of the last six seasons to establish his Silverstone dominance. And going by what we have seen from Hamilton in the past and over the last few weeks it is incredibly difficult to see that trend coming to an end this weekend. It will be another successful homecoming for the Brit, and a flawless one at that.

Hamilton has started from pole position at Silverstone in four of the last five years, has set the fastest lap in four of the last six British Grand Prix, and he has completed the pole position/fastest lap/race win treble on two occasions here. He also completed this treble at the Hungaroring a fortnight ago, so there is a huge amount of appeal in backing him to dominate this weekend and complete another Silverstone hat-trick.

Circuit Guide

Silverstone first hosted the British Grand Prix back in 1948 and having shared it with Aintree and Brands Hatch for almost 40 years, the Northamptonshire/Buckinghamshire circuit became the sole host of the British leg of the Formula 1 calendar from 1987. The length of the track has shortened over the years, while one of the biggest changes saw officials make the entry from Hangar Straight into Stowe Corner less dangerous following the tragic deaths of Ayrton Senna and Roland Ratzenberger at Imola in 1994. There have also been some additions to the circuit to accommodate MotoGP racing, but they have had no effect on the Formula 1 race. Lewis Hamilton surpassed Jim Clark and Alain Prost as the most successful driver in the history of the British Grand Prix when he won his ‘home’ grand prix for the sixth time in his career in 2019.

Location: Silverstone, Northamptonshire & Buckinghamshire, England
Number Of Laps: 52
Lap Length: 3.66 miles
Lap Record (current format): Lewis Hamilton, 1 minute 27.369 seconds (2019)



British Grand Prix Winners

1926Louis Wager
Robert Senechal
1927Robert BenoistDelageBrooklands
1948Luigi VilloresiMaseratiSilverstone
1949Emmanuel de GraffenreidMaseratiSilverstone
1950Giuseppe FarinaAlfa RomeoSilverstone
1951Jose Froilan GonzalezFerrariSilverstone
1952Alberto AscariFerrariSilverstone
1953Alberto AscariFerrariSilverstone
1954Jose Froilan GonzalezFerrariSilverstone
1955Stirling MossMercedesAintree
1956Juan-Manuel FangioLancia-FerrariSilverstone
1957Stirling Moss
Tony Brooks
1958Peter CollinsFerrariSilverstone
1959Jack BrabhamCooper-ClimaxAintree
1960Jack BrabhamCooper-ClimaxSilverstone
1961Wolfgang von TripsFerrariAintree
1962Jim ClarkLotus-ClimaxAintree
1963Jim ClarkLotus-ClimaxSilverstone
1964Jim ClarkLotus-ClimaxBrands Hatch
1965Jim ClarkLotus-ClimaxSilverstone
1966Jack BrabhamBrabham-RepcoBrands Hatch
1967Jim ClarkLotus-FordSilverstone
1968Jo SiffertLotus-FordBrands Hatch
1969Jackie StewartMatra-FordSilverstone
1970Jochen RindtLotus-FordBrands Hatch
1971Jackie StewartTyrrell-FordSilverstone
1972Emerson FittipaldiLotus-FordBrands Hatch
1973Peter RevsonMcLaren-FordSilverstone
1974Jody ScheckterTyrrell-FordBrands Hatch
1975Emerson FittipaldiMcLaren-FordSilverstone
1976Niki LaudaFerrariBrands Hatch
1977James HuntMcLaren-FordSilverstone
1978Carlos ReutemannFerrariBrands Hatch
1979Clay RegazzoniWilliams-FordSilverstone
1980Alan JonesWilliams-FordBrands Hatch
1981John WatsonMcLaren-FordSilverstone
1982Niki LaudaMcLaren-FordBrands Hatch
1983Alain ProstRenaultSilverstone
1984Niki LaudaMcLaren-TAGBrands Hatch
1985Alain ProstMcLaren-TAGSilverstone
1986Nigel MansellWilliams-HondaBrands Hatch
1987Nigel MansellWilliams-HondaSilverstone
1988Ayrton SennaMcLaren-HondaSilverstone
1989Alain ProstMcLaren-HondaSilverstone
1990Alain ProstFerrariSilverstone
1991Nigel MansellWilliams-RenaultSilverstone
1992Nigel MansellWilliams-RenaultSilverstone
1993Alain ProstWilliams-RenaultSilverstone
1994Damon HillWilliams-RenaultSilverstone
1995Johnny HerbertBenetton-RenaultSilverstone
1996Jacques VilleneuveWilliams-RenaultSilverstone
1997Jacques VilleneuveWilliams-RenaultSilverstone
1998Michael SchumacherFerrariSilverstone
1999David CoulthardMcLaren-MercedesSilverstone
2000David CoulthardMcLaren-MercedesSilverstone
2001Mika HakkinenMcLaren MercedesSilverstone
2002Michael SchumacherFerrariSilverstone
2003Rubens BarrichelloFerrariSilverstone
2004Michael SchumacherFerrariSilverstone
2005Juan Pablo MontoyaMcLaren-MercedesSilverstone
2006Fernando AlonsoRenaultSilverstone
2007Kimi RaikkonenFerrariSilverstone
2008Lewis HamiltonMcLaren-MercedesSilverstone
2009Sebastian VettelRed Bull-RenaultSilverstone
2010Mark WebberRed Bull-RenaultSilverstone
2011Fernando AlonsoFerrariSilverstone
2012Mark WebberRed Bull-RenaultSilverstone
2013Nico RosbergMercedesSilverstone
2014Lewis HamiltonMercedesSilverstone
2015Lewis HamiltonMercedesSilverstone
2016Lewis HamiltonMercedesSilverstone
2017Lewis HamiltonMercedesSilverstone
2018Sebastian VettelFerrariSilverstone
2019Lewis HamiltonMercedesSilverstone