British Grand Prix Odds, Tips & Predictions: Russell to claim home victory

Dave Kuzio /
British GP

The British Grand Prix takes place at Silverstone this weekend and have backed a home driver to be on top of the podium.

READ MORE: Check out our free Grand Prix predictions, tips & offers throughout the season

British GP

British Grand Prix Odds, Tips & Predictions

British Formula One fans love nothing more than cheering on a homegrown hero to victory at Silverstone and I think they will do so again – although it will not be Lewis Hamilton.

Hamilton loves the Silverstone track, he has won their eight times, while Jim Clark won five British Grand Prix’s, Nigel Mansell won four, Stirling Moss, Jackie Stewart and David Coulthard won it two times each with Tony Brooks, Peter Collins, James Hunt, John Watson, Damon Hill and Johnny Herbert all won it once.

I am making a bold call this weekend, as I am predicting a new British name will be up in lights at Silverstone. I am backing Hamilton’s Mercedes team-mate George Russell to secure his first-ever Grand Prix victory.

It is a very bold call considering he has not won a single race and has only been on the podium four times, but sport is a wonderful thing and amazing stuff happens. Why can’t Russell win?

Max Verstappen, Charles Leclerc and Sergio Perez could all crash out or be off the pace, and that is where Russell comes in.

He is definitely the future of British Formula One, so I expect a sea of Russell flags being waved all around Silverstone for their new hero to cross the line in first place.

British Grand Prix Predictions & Tips Circuit Guide

Silverstone first hosted the British Grand Prix back in 1948 and having shared it with Aintree and Brands Hatch for almost 40 years, the Northamptonshire/Buckinghamshire circuit became the sole host of the British leg of the Formula 1 calendar from 1987. The length of the track has shortened over the years, while one of the biggest changes saw officials make the entry from Hangar Straight into Stowe Corner less dangerous following the tragic deaths of Ayrton Senna and Roland Ratzenberger at Imola in 1994. There have also been some additions to the circuit to accommodate MotoGP racing, but they have had no effect on the Formula 1 race. Lewis Hamilton surpassed Jim Clark and Alain Prost as the most successful driver in the history of the British Grand Prix when he won his ‘home’ grand prix for the eighth time in his career in 2021.

Location: Silverstone, Northamptonshire & Buckinghamshire, England
Number Of Laps: 52
Lap Length: 3.66 miles
Lap Record (current format): Lewis Hamilton, 1 minute 27.369 seconds (2019)

British Grand Prix Winners

1926 Louis Wager
Robert Senechal
Delage Brooklands
1927 Robert Benoist Delage Brooklands
1948 Luigi Villoresi Maserati Silverstone
1949 Emmanuel de Graffenreid Maserati Silverstone
1950 Giuseppe Farina Alfa Romeo Silverstone
1951 Jose Froilan Gonzalez Ferrari Silverstone
1952 Alberto Ascari Ferrari Silverstone
1953 Alberto Ascari Ferrari Silverstone
1954 Jose Froilan Gonzalez Ferrari Silverstone
1955 Stirling Moss Mercedes Aintree
1956 Juan-Manuel Fangio Lancia-Ferrari Silverstone
1957 Stirling Moss
Tony Brooks
Vanwall Aintree
1958 Peter Collins Ferrari Silverstone
1959 Jack Brabham Cooper-Climax Aintree
1960 Jack Brabham Cooper-Climax Silverstone
1961 Wolfgang von Trips Ferrari Aintree
1962 Jim Clark Lotus-Climax Aintree
1963 Jim Clark Lotus-Climax Silverstone
1964 Jim Clark Lotus-Climax Brands Hatch
1965 Jim Clark Lotus-Climax Silverstone
1966 Jack Brabham Brabham-Repco Brands Hatch
1967 Jim Clark Lotus-Ford Silverstone
1968 Jo Siffert Lotus-Ford Brands Hatch
1969 Jackie Stewart Matra-Ford Silverstone
1970 Jochen Rindt Lotus-Ford Brands Hatch
1971 Jackie Stewart Tyrrell-Ford Silverstone
1972 Emerson Fittipaldi Lotus-Ford Brands Hatch
1973 Peter Revson McLaren-Ford Silverstone
1974 Jody Scheckter Tyrrell-Ford Brands Hatch
1975 Emerson Fittipaldi McLaren-Ford Silverstone
1976 Niki Lauda Ferrari Brands Hatch
1977 James Hunt McLaren-Ford Silverstone
1978 Carlos Reutemann Ferrari Brands Hatch
1979 Clay Regazzoni Williams-Ford Silverstone
1980 Alan Jones Williams-Ford Brands Hatch
1981 John Watson McLaren-Ford Silverstone
1982 Niki Lauda McLaren-Ford Brands Hatch
1983 Alain Prost Renault Silverstone
1984 Niki Lauda McLaren-TAG Brands Hatch
1985 Alain Prost McLaren-TAG Silverstone
1986 Nigel Mansell Williams-Honda Brands Hatch
1987 Nigel Mansell Williams-Honda Silverstone
1988 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda Silverstone
1989 Alain Prost McLaren-Honda Silverstone
1990 Alain Prost Ferrari Silverstone
1991 Nigel Mansell Williams-Renault Silverstone
1992 Nigel Mansell Williams-Renault Silverstone
1993 Alain Prost Williams-Renault Silverstone
1994 Damon Hill Williams-Renault Silverstone
1995 Johnny Herbert Benetton-Renault Silverstone
1996 Jacques Villeneuve Williams-Renault Silverstone
1997 Jacques Villeneuve Williams-Renault Silverstone
1998 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Silverstone
1999 David Coulthard McLaren-Mercedes Silverstone
2000 David Coulthard McLaren-Mercedes Silverstone
2001 Mika Hakkinen McLaren Mercedes Silverstone
2002 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Silverstone
2003 Rubens Barrichello Ferrari Silverstone
2004 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Silverstone
2005 Juan Pablo Montoya McLaren-Mercedes Silverstone
2006 Fernando Alonso Renault Silverstone
2007 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari Silverstone
2008 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes Silverstone
2009 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault Silverstone
2010 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault Silverstone
2011 Fernando Alonso Ferrari Silverstone
2012 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault Silverstone
2013 Nico Rosberg Mercedes Silverstone
2014 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Silverstone
2015 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Silverstone
2016 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Silverstone
2017 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Silverstone
2018 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari Silverstone
2019 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Silverstone
2020 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Silverstone
2021 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Silverstone