Belgian Grand Prix Predictions & Tips

Leigh Copson:

Lewis Hamilton got back to winning ways in Spain a fortnight ago to extend an already commanding lead at the top of the Formula 1 Drivers’ Championship, but can the defending world champion now make it back-to-back victories at a circuit that has not been too kind to him in recent years?

Hamilton saw a three-race win streak come to an end in the second race of the Silverstone double-header, but his response in Barcelona was nothing short of emphatic, and borderline flawless, as he dominated the Spanish Grand Prix, finishing 24 seconds ahead of second-place Max Verstappen and 44 seconds clear of Mercedes team-mate Valtteri Bottas. It was the British ace’s fourth straight Spanish success, but this weekend he takes on a circuit that has not brought much joy recently.

The Mercedes man is a three-time winner of the Belgian Grand Prix, but after winning it for the first time in 2010 he had to wait until 2015 for his sophomore success at Spa-Francorchamps. Hamilton completed a Belgian hat-trick two years later on his way to winning the world title, and despite his dominance of the sport he has been waiting for win number four ever since. He was forced to settle for second place behind Sebastian Vettel in 2018 and after a disappointing qualifying outing in 2019 he once again had to settle for the runners-up spot, this time behind Charles Leclerc.

So can Hamilton finally halt his Spa drought this weekend? How can we bet against him! The defending world champion has largely been outstanding since the 2020 Formula 1 season got underway and neither Red Bull nor Ferrari have done anything to suggest that they can upstage him here. Team-mate Bottas has managed to do it on a couple of occasions, but he remains firmly in Hamilton’s shadow and will stay there this weekend as the British star takes the chequered flag for the fifth time this season.

The odds on a Hamilton Pole Position/Race Winner double are not exactly lucrative though, so if you are looking for bigger odds why not consider the Fastest Lap market?

I have backed Hamilton for the fastest lap on a couple of occasions so far this season, but he has delivered on only two occasions and, as I have noted previously, Spa-Francorchamps is not a circuit that has brought a massive amount of success. Therefore I fancy Bottas to record the fastest lap in Sunday’s race. The Finn managed this back in 2018 and he continues to be one of only two drivers that have been able to get close to Hamilton this season, let alone beat the Brit, so it would not be a massive shock to see him record the fastest lap here.

Belgian Grand Prix Predictions & Tips: Circuit Guide

Spa Francorchamps has been the home of the Belgium Grand Prix – on-and-off – since the race was first held back in 1925, and despite undergoing several changes over the years this circuit remains one of the most popular on the Formula 1 calendar with both drivers and F1 fans. This track features one of the most famous corners in motor racing, Eau Rouge, and the 4.352-mile lap length makes it the longest circuit in all of F1. It is one of the most challenging circuits that drivers will face all season because it is a high risk-high reward track that can punish even the most smallest of mistakes, so this is a race that often produces plenty of drama and entertainment. Sebastian Vettel and Lewis Hamilton are three-time winners at the circuit, but out of the active driver line-up it is Kimi Raikkonen who is, rather surprisingly, the most successful at the Spa Francorchamps. The experienced Finn won here four times between 2004 and 2009.

Location: Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Francorchamps, Belgium
Number Of Laps: 44
Lap Length: 4.352 miles
Lap Record: Valterri Bottas, 1 minute 46.286 seconds (2018)

Belgian Grand Prix Winners

1925 Antonio Ascari Alfa Romeo Spa-Francorchamps
1930 Louis Chiron Bugatti Spa-Francorchamps
1931 William Grover-Williams
Caberto Conelli
Bugatti Spa-Francorchamps
1933 Tazio Nuvolari Maserati Spa-Francorchamps
1934 Rene Dreyfus Bugatti Spa-Francorchamps
1935 Rudolf Caracciola Mercedes Spa-Francorchamps
1937 Rudolf Haase Auto Union Spa-Francorchamps
1939 Hermann Lang Mercedes Spa-Francorchamps
1946 Eugene Chaboud Delage Bois de la Cambre
1947 Jean-Pierre Wimille Alfa Romeo Spa-Francorchamps
1949 Louis Rosier Talbot Spa-Francorchamps
1950 Juan Manuel Fangio Alfa Romeo Spa-Francorchamps
1951 Giuseppe Farina Alfa Romeo Spa-Francorchamps
1952 Alberto Ascari Ferrari Spa-Francorchamps
1953 Alberto Scari Ferrari Spa-Francorchamps
1954 Juan Manuel Fangio Maserati Spa-Francorchamps
1955 Juan Manuel Fangio Maserati Spa-Francorchamps
1956 Peter Collins Ferrari Spa-Francorchamps
1958 Tony Brooks Vanwall Spa-Francorchamps
1960 Jack Brabham Cooper-Climax Spa-Francorchamps
1961 Phil Hill Ferrari Spa-Francorchamps
1962 Jim Clark Lotus-Climax Spa-Francorchamps
1963 Jim Clark Lotus-Climax Spa-Francorchamps
1964 Jim Clark Lotus-Climax Spa-Francorchamps
1965 Jim Clark Lotus-Climax Spa-Francorchamps
1966 John Surtees Ferrari Spa-Francorchamps
1967 Dan Gurney Eagle-Weslake Spa-Francorchamps
1968 Bruce McLaren McLaren-Ford Spa-Francorchamps
1970 Pedro Rodriguez BRM Spa-Francorchamps
1972 Emerson Fittipaldi Lotus-Ford Nivelles
1973 Jackie Stewart Tyrell-Ford Zolder
1974 Emerson Fittipaldi McLaren-Ford Nivelles
1975 Niki Lauda Ferrari Zolder
1976 Niki Lauda Ferrari Zolder
1977 Gunnar Nilsson Lotus-Ford Zolder
1978 Mario Andretti Lotus-Ford Zolder
1979 Jody Scheckter Ferraro Zolder
1980 Didier Pironi Ligier-Ford Zolder
1981 Carlos Reutemann Williams-Ford Zolder
1982 John Watson McLaren-Ford Zolder
1983 Alain Prost Renault Spa-Francorchamps
1984 Michele Alboreto Ferrari Zolder
1985 Ayrton Senna Lotus-Renault Spa-Francorchamps
1986 Nigel Mansell Williams-Honda Spa-Francorchamps
1987 Alain Prost McLaren-TAG Spa-Francorchamps
1988 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda Spa-Francorchamps
1989 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda Spa-Francorchamps
1990 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda Spa-Francorchamps
1991 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda Spa-Francorchamps
1992 Michael Schumacher Benetton-Ford Spa-Francorchamps
1993 Damon Hill Williams-Renault Spa-Francorchamps
1994 Damon Hill Williams-Renault Spa-Francorchamps
1995 Michael Schumacher Benetton-Renault Spa-Francorchamps
1996 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Spa-Francorchamps
1997 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Spa-Francorchamps
1998 Damon Hill Jordan-Mugen-Honda Spa-Francorchamps
1999 David Coulthard McLaren-Mercedes Spa-Francorchamps
2000 Mika Hakkinen McLaren-Mercedes Spa-Francorchamps
2001 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Spa-Francorchamps
2002 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Spa-Francorchamps
2004 Kimi Raikkonen McLaren-Mercedes Spa-Francorchamps
2005 Kimi Raikkonen McLaren-Mercedes Spa-Francorchamps
2007 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari Spa-Francorchamps
2008 Felipe Massa Ferrari Spa-Francorchamps
2009 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari Spa-Francorchamps
2010 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes Spa-Francorchamps
2011 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault Spa-Francorchamps
2012 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes Spa-Francorchamps
2013 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault Spa-Francorchamps
2014 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull-Renault Spa-Francorchamps
2015 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Spa-Francorchamps
2016 Nico Rosberg Mercedes Spa-Francorchamps
2017 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Spa-Francorchamps
2018 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari Spa-Francorchamps
2019 Charles Leclerc Ferrari Spa-Francorchamps