Bahrain Grand Prix Guide

Leigh Copson:
Bahrain International Circuit in Sakhir, Bahrain (Photo by David Davies/PA Archive/PA Images).

Bettingpro's guide to the Bahrain Grand Prix and it's host venue, the Bahrain International Circuit.

Circuit Guide

The Bahrain International Circuit was opened March 2004 ahead of the first ever Formula 1 race to take place in Sakhir, but there was some controversy because Formula 1 boss Bernie Ecclestone demanded the race took place despite the venue not being fully completed. A wide track means there are plenty of opportunities to overtake and that could lead to thrilling scenes like the ones we saw when Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg battled to win the race in 2014. The race gets underway at dusk and is completed under the floodlights, making it the first race of the season to end at night. Pedro de la Rosa surprisingly holds the record for the fastest lap around this circuit, but that did not translate to a victory. Sebastian Vettel is a four-time winner of this race and his success in 2018 saw him surpass Fernando Alonso as the most successful driver in the history of this race.

Location: Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir, Bahrain
Number of Laps: 57
Lap Length: 3.363 miles
Lap Record: Pedro de la Rosa, 1 minute 31.447 seconds (2005)



Bahrain Grand Prix Winners

2004Michael SchumacherFerrariSakhir Grand Prix Circuit
2005Fernando AlonsoRenaultSakhir Grand Prix Circuit
2006Fernando AlonsoRenaultSakhir Grand Prix Circuit
2007Felipe MassaFerrariSakhir Grand Prix Circuit
2008Felipe MassaFerrariSakhir Grand Prix Circuit
2009Jenson ButtonBrawn-MercedesSakhir Grand Prix Circuit
2010Fernando AlonsoFerrariSakhir Endurance Circuit
2012Sebastian VettelRed BullSakhir Grand Prix Circuit
2013Sebastian VettelRed BullSakhir Grand Prix Circuit
2014Lewis HamiltonMercedesSakhir Grand Prix Circuit
2015Lewis HamiltonMercedesSakhir Grand Prix Circuit
2016Nico RosbergMercedesSakhir Grand Prix Circuit
2017Sebastian VettelFerrariSakhir Grand Prix Circuit
2018Sebastian VettelFerrariSakhir Grand Prix Circuit
2019Lewis HamiltonMercedesSakhir Grand Prix Circuit