Azerbaijan Grand Prix Betting Tips, Odds & Predictions: Verstappen to extend his lead

Read More: Check out our free Grand Prix predictions, tips & offers throughout the season


Azerbaijan Grand Prix Betting Predictions & Tips

Max Verstappen goes in search of his fifth win of the season as he looks to keep hold of his world title.

The defending champion looks set to be pushed all the way this season, although it will not be by rival Lewis Hamilton.

Verstappen and his Red Bull team-mate Sergio Perez are first and third respectively, while Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc is aiming to upset the applecart. He is in second place and only nine points behind the leader.

There is one Mercedes driver causing a few problems to the top three and it is not Hamilton. George Russell is relishing being in a decent car and he occupies fourth position with 84 points. He has yet to win a race this season, but he has finished on the podium twice.

As long as they can all finish on the circuit, I expect the podium to consist of Verstappen, Leclerc and Perez. All three are quality drivers and will capitalise on any mistakes from the others. I have to predict a winner, so I am backing Verstappen to grab win number five and extend his overall lead.

Russell will not give this up without a fight, and I do expect him to claim a win this season, just not in Azerbaijan.

The British Mercedes driver will end up in the points as will McLaren’s Lando Norris.

Circuit Guide

The Baku City Circuit is a relative newcomer to the Formula 1 calendar having made its debut as the host of the European Grand Prix in 2016. The race was rebranded as the Azerbaijan Grand Prix ahead of the 2017 season and the street circuit was confirmed as the host venue going forward. At 3.730 miles in length, the Baku City Circuit is the second-longest track on the Formula 1 calendar behind Spa-Francorchamps (Belgium) and it was also designed to be the fastest street circuit in motorsports with a top speed of just over 223 miles per hour. It has received some criticism from drivers in the past, due to a lack of run-off areas, but it has received praise because it remains one of the most challenging circuits on the calendar. The Azerbaijan Grand Prix made its debut in 2017 and Daniel Ricciardo became its inaugural winner, with Lewis Hamilton taking the honours in 2018, Valtteri Bottas winning it in 2019 with Sergio Perez becoming the fourth different winner in four races in 2021.

Location: Baku City Circuit, Baku, Azerbaijan
Number of Laps: 51
Lap Length: 3.730 miles
Lap Record: Charles Leclerc, 1 minute 43.009 seconds (2019)

Azerbaijan Grand Prix Winners

2017Daniel RicciardoRed BullBaku City Circuit
2018Lewis HamiltonMercedesBaku City Circuit
2019Valtteri BottasMercedesBaku City Circuit
2021Sergio PerezRed BullBaku City Circuit