Austrian Grand Prix Guide

Leigh Copson:
The Red Bull Ring in Austria (Photo by HOCH ZWEI/DPA/PA Images).

Bettingpro's guide to the Austrian Grand Prix and it's host venue, the Red Bull Ring.

Circuit Guide

The Austrian Grand Prix has been part of the Formula 1 calendar since 1963 – on and off – and it has taken place at this venue in Spielberg, Styria since 1970. Originally known as the Osterreichring before being renamed the A1-Ring in 1997, this circuit has been known as the Red Bull Ring since it ended a 10-year exile by returning to the Formula 1 schedule in 2014. The circuit has undergone a host of changes over the years, with the biggest coming between 1995 and 1996 when the venue was completely rebuilt due to safety concerns. Fast sweeping corners were replaced by tight bends a long straight was added to provide further opportunities for drivers to overtake. Mercedes have dominated the circuit since the Austrian Grand Prix returned to the calendar, winning four of the six races since 2014, but only one active Formula 1 driver has won this race on more than one occasion – Max Verstappen thanks to his back-to-back wins in 2018 and 2019. Alain Prost is the most successful driver in the history of this circuit having won the Austrian Grand Prix three times (1983, 1985 and 1986).

Location: Red Bull Ring, Spielberg, Styria, Austria
Number Of Laps: 71
Lap Length: 2.683 miles
Lap Record: Kimi Raikkonen, 1min 6.957 seconds (2018)



Austrian Grand Prix Winners

1963Jack BrabhamBrabham-ClimaxZeltweg Airfield
1964Lorenzo BandiniFerrariZeltweg Airfield
1970Jacky IckxFerrariOsterreichring
1971Jo SiffertBRMOsterreichring
1972Emerson FittipaldiLotus-FordOsterreichring
1973Ronnie PetersonLotus-FordOsterreichring
1974Carlos ReutemannBrabham-FordOsterreichring
1975Vittorio BrambillaMarch-FordOsterreichring
1976John WatsonPenske-FordOsterreichring
1977Alan JonesShadow-FordOsterreichring
1978Ronnie PetersonLotus-FordOsterreichring
1979Alan JonesWilliams-FordOsterreichring
1980Jean-Pierre JabouilleRenaultOsterreichring
1981Jacques LaffiteLigier-MatraOsterreichring
1982Elio de AngelisLotus-FordOsterreichring
1983Alain ProstRenaultOsterreichring
1984Niki LaudaMcLaren-TAGOsterreichring
1985Alain ProstMcLaren-TAGOsterreichring
1986Alain ProstMcLaren-TAGOsterreichring
1987Nigel MansellWilliams-HondaOsterreichring
1997Jacques VilleneuveWilliams-RenaultA1-Ring
1998Mika HakkinenMcLaren-MercedesA1-Ring
1999Eddie IrvineFerrariA1-Ring
2000Mika HakkinenMcLaren-MercedesA1-Ring
2001David CoulthardMcLaren-MercedesA1-Ring
2002Michael SchumacherFerrariA1-Ring
2003Michael SchumacherFerrariA1-Ring
2014Nico RosbergMercedesRed Bull Ring
2015Nico RosbergMercedesRed Bull Ring
2016Lewis HamiltonMercedesRed Bull Ring
2017Valtteri BottasMercedesRed Bull Ring
2018Max VerstappenRed BullRed Bull Ring
2019Max VerstappenRed BullRed Bull Ring