Australian Grand Prix F1 Betting Tips & Predictions: Leclerc to win in Melbourne & Bottas for podium

Dave Kuzio /
Australian Grand Prix

The third race of the 2022 Formula One season takes us to Melbourne for the Australian Grand Prix, and have come up with their top tips and predictions.

Australian Grand Prix Predictions & Tips

The Australian Grand Prix returns to the Formula One calendar after a two-year absence, and all eyes will be on Mercedes to see if they can register their first victory of the season.

My short answer to that question is No.

Mercedes are struggling with the car, and everyone can say it’s a transition period and we knew this would happen, but these are the same people who were saying Lewis Hamilton would win the title driving a Ford Fiesta.

Hamilton’s best finish this season was third in the opening race in Bahrain and he is down in fifth place on the F1 standings, while team-mate George Russell has no wins but has 22 points.

They are picking up points, but Mercedes will not be settling for that. They want podium finishes every single week – unfortunately for all their fans, that might not be happening this year.

Max Verstappen is probably still everyone’s favourite to make it back-to-back title wins, but he is in for another battle as the Ferrari duo of Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz Jnr are fighting him all the way.

Leclerc leads the championship with one win from two, while team-mate Sainz Jnr is 12 points behind him in second.

Leclerc set the pace during Friday’s practice ahead of Verstappen and Sainz Jr, while Fernando Alonso is hanging around in fourth.

I know I have mentioned Verstappen and that he is probably the favourite to win the title, but I am making a bold shout to say he will not be on the podium in Melbourne.

I am backing Ferrari top-two with Leclerc winning the race, while I also expect Valterri Bottas to finish on the podium in his Ferrari-powered Alfa Romero.

Australian Grand Prix Special Betting Offers


Australian Grand Prix: Circuit Guide

The Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit has been hosting the Australian Grand Prix since 1996. A street circuit that surrounds Albert Park Lake, one lap is just over three miles long and it is considered one of the least-challenging circuits on the calendar due to is fast and undemanding corners. However, there are also very few straights on this track so chances to overtake are limited. It has been a popular track for drivers from the United Kingdom and Germany since returning to the F1 schedule.

A British driver has taken the chequered flag on nine occasions, with a German driver also winning nine times, and the most successful driver in the circuit’s history is Michael Schumacher who has won four instalments of this famous race. In terms of active drivers, Sebastian Vettel leads the way with three successes, having followed up his win in 2011 with back-to-back victories in 2017 and 2018.

Location: Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit, Melbourne, Australia
Number Of Laps: 58
Lap Length: 3.296 miles
Lap Record: Michael Schumacher, 1 minute 24.125 seconds (2004).

Australian Grand Prix: Winners

1928 Arthur Waite Austin Phillip Island
1929 Arthur Terdich Bugatti Phillip Island
1930 Bill Thompson Bugatti Phillip Island
1931 Carl Junker Bugatti Phillip Island
1932 Bill Thompson Bugatti Phillip Island
1933 Bill Thompson Riley Phillip Island
1934 Bob Lea-Wright Singer Phillip Island
1935 Les Murphy MG Phillip Island
1937 Les Murphy MG Victor Harbor
1938 Peter Whitehead ERA Bathurst
1939 Alan Tomlinson MG Lobethal
1947 Bill Murray MG Bathurst
1948 Frank Pratt BMW Point Cook
1949 John Crouch Delahaye Leyburn
1950 Doug Whiteford Ford Nuriootpa
1951 Warwick Pratley GRS-Ford Narrogin
1952 Doug Whiteford Talbot-Lago Bathurst
1953 Doug Whiteford Talbot-Lago Albert Park
1954 Lex Davison HWM-Jaguar Southport
1955 Jack Brabham Cooper-Bristol Port Wakefield
1956 Stirling Moss Maserati Albert Park
1957 Lex Davison/Bill Patterson Ferrari Caversham
1958 Lex Davison Ferrari Bathurst
1959 Stan Jones Maserati Longford
1960 Alex Mildren Cooper-Maserati Lowood
1961 Lex Davison Cooper-Climax Mallala
1962 Bruce McLaren Cooper-Climax Caversham
1963 Jack Brabham Brabham-Climax Warwick Farm
1964 Jack Brabham Brabham-Climax Sandown
1965 Bruce McLaren Cooper-Climax Longford
1966 Graham Hill BRM Lakeside
1967 Jackie Stewart BRM Warwick Farm
1968 Jim Clark Lotus-Cosworth Sandown
1969 Chris Amon Ferrari Lakeside
1970 Frank Matich McLaren-Repco/Holden Warwick Farm
1971 Frank Matich Matich-Repco/Holden Warwick Farm
1972 Graham McRae Leda-Chevrolet Sandown
1973 Graham McRae McRae-Chevrolet Sandown
1974 Max Stewart Lola-Chevrolet Oran Park
1975 Max Stewart Lola-Chevrolet Surfers Paradise
1976 John Goss Match-Repco/Holden Sandown
1977 Warwick Brown Lola-Chevrolet Oran Park
1978 Graham McRae McRae-Chevrolet Sandown
1979 Johnnie Walker Lola-Chevrolet Wanneroo
1980 Alan Jones Williams-Cosworth Calder
1981 Roberto Moreno Ralt-Ford Calder
1982 Alain Prost Ralt-Ford Calder
1983 Roberto Moreno Ralt-Ford Calder
1984 Roberto Moreno Ralt-Ford Calder
1985 Keke Rosberg Williams-Honda Adelaide
1986 Alain Prost McLaren-TAG Adelaide
1987 Gerhard Berger Ferrari Adelaide
1988 Alain Prost McLaren-Honda Adelaide
1989 Thierry Boutsen Williams-Honda Adelaide
1990 Nelson Piquet Bennetton-Ford Adelaide
1991 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda Adelaide
1992 Gerhard Berger McLaren-Honda Adelaide
1993 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Ford Adelaide
1994 Nigel Mansell Williams-Renault Adelaide
1995 Damon Hill Williams-Renault Adelaide
1996 Damon Hill Williams-Renault Adelaide
1997 David Coulthard McLaren-Mercedes Albert Park
1998 Mika Hakkinen McLaren-Mercedes Albert Park
1999 Eddie Irvine Ferrari Albert Park
2000 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Albert Park
2001 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Albert Park
2002 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Albert Park
2003 David Coulthard McLaren-Mercedes Albert Park
2004 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Albert Park
2005 Giancarlo Fisichella Renault Albert Park
2006 Fernando Alonso Renault Albert Park
2007 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari Albert Park
2008 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes Albert Park
2009 Jenson Button Brawn-Mercedes Albert Park
2010 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes Albert Park
2011 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault Albert Park
2012 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes Albert Park
2013 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus-Renault Albert Park
2014 Nico Rosberg Mercedes Albert Park
2015 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Albert Park
2016 Nico Rosberg Mercedes Albert Park
2017 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari Albert Park
2018 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari Albert Park
2019 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes Albert Park