Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Guide

Leigh Copson:
General view of the Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi (Photo by David Davies/PA Archive/PA Images).

Bettingpro's guide to the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix and it's host venue, the Yas Marina Circuit.

Circuit Guide

Yas Marina is one of the newest circuits on the Formula 1 calendar having only debuted back in 2009, but it has already established itself as one of the most popular tracks with drivers thanks to its twists and turns. There are 21 corners on the 3.45-mile circuit and several drivers have highlighted the fact that every single one of them is unique, but not all reviews have been overly positive. In fact, Kimi Raikkonen once claimed the first few corners were “quite good” before going on to describe the rest of them with a vulgar term that I will leave to your imagination. Lewis Hamilton is the most successful drivers in this track’s history, having won the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix four times, but the British ace has never managed to string together back-to-back wins at this track.

Location: Yas Marina Circuit, Yas Island, Abu Dhabi, UAE
Number Of Laps: 55
Lap Length: 3,451 miles
Lap Record: Sebastian Vettel, 1 minute 40.279 seconds (2009)



Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Winners

2009Sebastian VettelRed Bull-RenaultYas Marina
2010Sebastian VettelRed Bull-RenaultYas Marina
2011Lewis HamiltonMcLaren-MercedesYas Marina
2012Kimi RaikkonenLotus-RenaultYas Marina
2013Sebastian VettelRed Bull-RenaultYas Marina
2014Lewis HamiltonMercedesYas Marina
2015Nico RosbergMercedesYas Marina
2016Lewis HamiltonMercedesYas Marina
2017Valtteri BottasMercedesYas Marina
2018Lewis HamiltonMercedesYas Marina