The Hundred 2022 Betting Tips: The Ultimate Guide To The 100-Ball Cricket Tournament & Special Betting Offers

Dave Kuzio /
The Hundred

Cricket continues to evolve and we have the second year of The Hundred competition. Check out our ultimate guide on the new competition, and also get involved with some special betting offers.

READ MORE: Check out our tips & predictions from The Hundred

The Hundred: Special Betting Tips & Offers

The Hundred

If you are fans of the T20 format, then this is the tournament for you. If you are a traditionalist and think Test cricket is still the future, then you might not like this.

What Is The Hundred?

The Hundred is a 100-ball competition hosted in England and Wales and is the brainchild of the England and Wales Cricket Board.

This format is aimed to make cricket more enjoyable for families, with the games expected to be shorter and more exciting. Each game is scheduled to last less than three hours.

There is a men’s and women’s tournament, and you will witness some of the best players in the world swinging hard for the fences.

Each innings will consist of 100 balls being bowled. Bowlers can bowl spells of five balls or 10 balls, and no bowler can bowl more than 20 deliveries.

This will be the second year of the tournament. Southern Brave won the inaugural men’s tournament against Birmingham Phoenix, while the Oval Invincibles beat the Braves to win the women’s competition.

The main important details of The Hundred are:

  • 100 balls per innings.
  • A change of ends after 10 balls.
  • Bowlers deliver either five or 10 consecutive balls.
  • Each bowler can deliver a maximum of 20 balls per games.
  • Each bowling side gets a strategic timeout of up to two and a half minutes.
  • A 25-ball powerplay start for each team.
  • Two fielders are allowed outside of the initial 30-yard circle during the powerplay.
  • Teams will be able to call timeouts.
  • A simplified scoreboard is also in operation.

The Big Players

Like the IPL, the Hundred Draft has put homegrown talent to the fore in the competition with a huge number of players utilised across the eight sides. While some will question why more homegrown talent was not used by the teams, it should be argued that those selected will get the chance to play alongside some of the world’s finest talent, with this experience invaluable to those players looking to break into the England side across any of the three formats.

Central Contract Stars

Across each of the eight teams, there is two ‘Central’ players at the most who has a central contract with the ECB. The likes of England captain Joe Root, quick Jofra Archer, Headingley hero Ben Stokes and big-hitting Jos Buttler come under this category and they will add a very English core to the team, with their names along often enough to bring a big crowd. However, an over-reliance on these players is not advised as they will likely not be available for the whole tournament with their commitments to England something that will likely get in the way. While these stars can be leaned upon, they should not become the sole reason why a team is in the ascendancy.

Central Contract Stars: Zak Crawley, Mark Wood (London Spirit), Jonny Bairstow, Ollie Pope (Welsh Fire), Jos Buttler, Ollie Robinson (Manchester Originals), Ben Stokes (Northern Superchargers), Sam Curran, Rory Burns (Oval Invincibles), Joe Root, Dawid Malan (Trent Rockets), Chris Woakes (Birmingham Phoenix), Jofra Archer (Southern Brave).

Tournament Structure

Eight city-based teams will compete over the school summer holidays between July and August. Each team will play four matches at home and four matches away meaning they play their closest rivals twice in a format very similar to the Big Bash, resulting in a total of 32 games in the league before the play-offs.

After these matches, the top four sides in the league go into the play-offs where the same system that is utilised in the IPL is going to be used. This will see the top two teams play one another with the winner progressing straight to the final, while the loser will get another chance to reach the final as they take on the winner of the teams that finished in third and fourth, meaning that a top-two finish is vital with an extra life on offer to either of the top two teams.

Where Can I watch The Hundred?

Cricket fans can watch every single match from The Hundred live on Sky Sports with their dedicated ‘The Hundred Channel’.

Sky Sports are pulling out all of the stops with their commentary team, with Andrew Flintoff, Rob Key, Nasser Hussain, Daren Sammy, Tammy Beaumont and Dinesh Karthik among the names involved.

All 68 games – 34 for each for the men and women – will be shown live on Sky Sports The Hundred as well as on Sky Sports Mix, while all women’s matches and a significant number of men’s games will be streamed live on the Sky Cricket YouTube channel.

The men’s and women’s finals will both be held at Lord’s on Saturday, September 3

Latest Offers:

18+ only. New Customers only. Bet £10* & Get £50* in Free Bets. Sign up, deposit between £5* and £10* to your account and bet365 will give you five times that value in Free Bets when you place qualifying bets to the same value and they are settled. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits. Min odds/bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. T&Cs, time limits & exclusions apply. *or currency equivalent.


T&C’s Apply. New cus only. Opt-in & deposit req. 7 days to deposit and stake £10 minimum bet at odds of 1.5 or greater to qualify. Max 3x £10 free bets credited on bet settlement. Free bets must be used on 4 or more selections with selection odds of 1.3 or greater. Free bets are non-withdrawable and stake not returned with winnings. 7 day expiry.

New customer offer. Max £/€10 refund. Sportsbook only. Payment restrictions apply. T&Cs apply.

New Customer offer. Place a min £10 bet on the Sportsbook on odds of min 1/2 (1.5), get £30 in Free Bets. Rewards valid for 30 days. SMS verification required. Only deposits via cards will qualify. T&Cs apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

New 18+ UK customers only. Register using the promo code WELCOME40, deposit and place first bet of £10+ on Sports (cumulative Evens+) within 7 days of registration. First bet must be on Sports. £30 in Free Bets and £10 in Free Spins (50x20p) credited within 10 hours of bet settlement. Free Bet stakes are not included in any returns. Bonuses have a 7-day expiry. Payment restrictions apply. SMS verification and/or Proof of I.D and address may be required. Full T&Cs apply.

New customers only. Min Deposit: £10. First deposit matched up to £10. 1 x wagering at odds of 1.75+ to unlock Free Bet. Debit Card deposits only. This offer is valid for 7 days from your new account being registered. Terms apply.

18+ only. New UK, IE & Malta users only. Min. £10/€10 first deposit only using Debit Card or Trustly. Free bets expire in 90 days. T&Cs apply.

New customers using Promo code H30 only, Min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15, free bets credited after settlement of first qualifying bet, free bets will expire 30 days after the qualifying bet is placed, payment method/player/country restrictions apply. See full terms below. #ad