2022 LV=Insurance County Championship Cricket Betting Tips, Special Offers & Ultimate Guide

Dave Kuzio /
county cricket

Following the Ashes debacle and series defeat in West Indies, cricket fans can turn their attention to the domestic game in England. Check out the ultimate guide to the 2022 LV=Insurance County Championship along with betting tips and special offers.

READ MORE: Check out our free IPL tips & predictions

2022 LV=Insurance County Championship Cricket Betting Tips, Special Offers & Ultimate Guide

Alastair Cook

Division One Betting Tips

Division Two Betting Tips

2022 LV=Insurance County Championship Cricket Betting Tips, Special Offers & Ultimate Guide

When Does The 2022 LV= Insurance County Championship Season Start?

The new domestic cricket season will get underway on Thursday, April 7th 2022 with the campaign coming to an end on Thursday, September 29th 2022.

The opening seven rounds of the new season will run from Thursday until Sunday in successive weeks as the national team get ready for their Test series against New Zealand.

Five more rounds will take place in June and July before the season comes to a close at the end of September.

What Is The Format For the County Championship?

The LV=Insurance County Championship will be played under a two-division structure for the first time since 2019.

Ten counties will compete in Division One and a further eight in Division Two. The format will also feature a two-up, two-down promotion and relegation system.

Every county will play 14 league matches – seven at home and seven on the road.

Which Counties Will Play In Division One And Division Two?

Division One: Essex, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Kent, Lancashire, Northamptonshire, Somerset, Surrey, Warwickshire, Yorkshire

Division Two: Derbyshire, Durham, Glamorgan, Leicestershire, Middlesex, Nottinghamshire, Sussex, Worcestershire.

How Are Points Scored?

For every win a county will receive 16 points and eight for the draw. Bonus points are awarded for scoring runs and taking wickets.

How Many ‘Overseas’ Players Can Each County Play?

Each county can field a maximum of two ‘overseas’ players in an LV= Insurance County Championship match.

Who Are The Overseas Players In The County Championship?

Division One

Essex: Simon Harmer (South Africa), Mark Steketee (Australia – until 22 May)

Gloucestershire: Marcus Harris (Australia), Zafar Gohar (Pakistan), Naseem Shah (Pakistan – until mid-July)

Hampshire: Kyle Abbott (South Africa), Mohammad Abbas (Pakistan – until 22 May)

Kent: George Linde (South Africa), Jackson Bird (Australia – until 22 May), Matt Henry (New Zealand – from 10 July)

Lancashire: Dane Vilas (South Africa), Hasan Ali (Pakistan – until 22 May)

Northamptonshire: Will Young (New Zealand), Matt Kelly (Australian – until 22 May)

Somerset: Marchant De Lange (South Africa), Matt Renshaw (Australia – until August), Peter Siddle (Australia – until August)

Surrey: Kemar Roach (West Indies – until 8 May), Hashim Amla (South Africa)

Warwickshire: Nathan McAndrew (Australia)

Yorkshire: Duane Olivier (South Africa), Haris Rauf (Pakistan)

Division Two

Derbyshire: Shan Mahsood (Pakistan), Suraj Lakmal (Sri Lanka), Dustin Melton (Zimbabwe)

Durham: David Bedingham (South Africa), Keegan Petersen (South Africa – until 22 May)

Glamorgan: Marnus Labuschagne (Australia), Michael Neser (Australia)

Leicestershire: Wiaan Mulder (South Africa), Beuran Hendricks (South Africa)

Middlesex: Peter Handscomb (Australia), Shaheen Shah Afridi (Pakistan – until mid-July)

Nottinghamshire: Dane Paterson (South Africa), James Pattinson (Australia)

Sussex: Mohammad Rizwan (Pakistan – until mid-June), Cheteshwar Pujara (India), Josh Philippe (Australia – from June)

Worcestershire: Azhar Ali (Pakistan)

How Can I Watch And Follow The LV=Insurance County Championship Live?

You can keep up-to-date with every single ball that is bowled in the LV=Insurance County Championship.

BBC local radio stations will cover every single game in the County Championship.

When it comes to watching live, the ECB will host live streams on the official website and app, as well as daily highlights at the close of play.