Thank you for signing up. 

We've sent you an email. Please click on the link to verify your address.

Win big with FREE Tips from our experts

Get our insider tips mailed direct

No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us.

Australian Grand Prix betting odds & tips: All the betting odds & tips you need for the 2017 F1 season opener

Leigh Copson 3 Dec 2016
An aerial view of the Australian Grand Prix Circuit around Albert Park Lake (credit: PAUL CROCK/AFP/Getty Images)

The 2017 Formula 1 season gets underway with the Australian Grand Prix on March 27 and this is’s complete guide to the race in Melbourne.

The Australian Grand Prix has become the traditional curtain-raiser on the Formula 1 calendar, with the quest for F1 glory getting underway at the famous Albert Park Lake street circuit in Melbourne. The winner of this race in each of the last two seasons – Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg – have gone on to win the Drivers’ Championship and that will not have gone unnoticed by the other drivers.

There will be no Rosberg in 2017 following his shock retirement at the end of his championship-winning 2016 campaign, and of the active drivers it is Kimi Raikkonen who has been the most successful with wins in 2007 and 2013. So who will be victorious this time around? will have all the betting odds and tips you need for the first race of the 2017 season.

Australian Grand Prix 2017 betting odds

The bookmakers – including bet365 – will release their odds closer to the race.

Australian Grand Prix 2017 betting tips

We had at least one winning bet on 17 of the 21 races last season and average one winning bet per race. Get our free Australian Grand Prix betting tips closer to the race.

Australian Grand Prix circuit

The Melbourne Grand Prix circuit has been hosting the Australian Grand Prix since 1996. A street circuit that surrounds Albert Park Lake, one lap is just over three miles long and it is considered one of the least-challenging circuits on the calendar due to is fast and undemanding corners. However, there are also very few straights on this track so chances to overtake are limited.

It has been a popular track for drivers from the United Kingdom and Germany since returning to the F1 schedule. A British driver has taken the chequered flag on nine occasions, with a German driver winning seven times, and the most successful driver in the circuit’s history is Michael Schumacher who has won the race four times. In terms of active drivers, Lewis Hamilton is the number one driver with two wins.

Location: Melbourne, Australia
Number Of Laps: 58
Lap Length: 3.296 miles
Lap Record: Michael Schumacher, 1 minute 24.125 seconds (2004).

Australian Grand Prix previous winners

Nico Rosberg celebrates after winning the 2016 Australian Grand Prix. (Photo by SAEED KHAN/AFP/Getty Images)

Michael Schumacher celebrates after winning the 2004 Australian Grand Prix. The German is the most successful driver since F1 returned to the circuit, having won their four times. (Photo by Mark Thompson/Getty Images)

Australian Grand Prix winners

1928Arthur WaiteAustinPhillip Island
1929Arthur TerdichBugattiPhillip Island
1930Bill ThompsonBugattiPhillip Island
1931Carl JunkerBugattiPhillip Island
1932Bill ThompsonBugattiPhillip Island
1933Bill ThompsonRileyPhillip Island
1934Bob Lea-WrightSingerPhillip Island
1935Les MurphyMGPhillip Island
1937Les MurphyMGVictor Harbor
1938Peter WhiteheadERABathurst
1939Alan TomlinsonMGLobethal
1947Bill MurrayMGBathurst
1948Frank PrattBMWPoint Cook
1949John CrouchDelahayeLeyburn
1950Doug WhitefordFordNuriootpa
1951Warwick PratleyGRS-FordNarrogin
1952Doug WhitefordTalbot-LagoBathurst
1953Doug WhitefordTalbot-LagoAlbert Park
1954Lex DavisonHWM-JaguarSouthport
1955Jack BrabhamCooper-BristolPort Wakefield
1956Stirling MossMaseratiAlbert Park
1957Lex Davison/Bill PattersonFerrariCaversham
1958Lex DavisonFerrariBathurst
1959Stan JonesMaseratiLongford
1960Alex MildrenCooper-MaseratiLowood
1961Lex DavisonCooper-ClimaxMallala
1962Bruce McLarenCooper-ClimaxCaversham
1963Jack BrabhamBrabham-ClimaxWarwick Farm
1964Jack BrabhamBrabham-ClimaxSandown
1965Bruce McLarenCooper-ClimaxLongford
1966Graham HillBRMLakeside
1967Jackie StewartBRMWarwick Farm
1968Jim ClarkLotus-CosworthSandown
1969Chris AmonFerrariLakeside
1970Frank MatichMcLaren-Repco/HoldenWarwick Farm
1971Frank MatichMatich-Repco/HoldenWarwick Farm
1972Graham McRaeLeda-ChevroletSandown
1973Graham McRaeMcRae-ChevroletSandown
1974Max StewartLola-ChevroletOran Park
1975Max StewartLola-ChevroletSurfers Paradise
1976John GossMatch-Repco/HoldenSandown
1977Warwick BrownLola-ChevroletOran Park
1978Graham McRaeMcRae-ChevroletSandown
1979Johnnie WalkerLola-ChevroletWanneroo
1980Alan JonesWilliams-CosworthCalder
1981Roberto MorenoRalt-FordCalder
1982Alain ProstRalt-FordCalder
1983Roberto MorenoRalt-FordCalder
1984Roberto MorenoRalt-FordCalder
1985Keke RosbergWilliams-HondaAdelaide
1986Alain ProstMcLaren-TAGAdelaide
1987Gerhard BergerFerrariAdelaide
1988Alain ProstMcLaren-HondaAdelaide
1989Thierry BoutsenWilliams-HondaAdelaide
1990Nelson PiquetBennetton-FordAdelaide
1991Ayrton SennaMcLaren-HondaAdelaide
1992Gerhard BergerMcLaren-HondaAdelaide
1993Ayrton SennaMcLaren-FordAdelaide
1994Nigel MansellWilliams-RenaultAdelaide
1995Damon HillWilliams-RenaultAdelaide
1996Damon HillWilliams-RenaultAdelaide
1997David CoulthardMcLaren-MercedesAlbert Park
1998Mika HakkinenMcLaren-MercedesAlbert Park
1999Eddie IrvineFerrariAlbert Park
2000Michael SchumacherFerrariAlbert Park
2001Michael SchumacherFerrariAlbert Park
2002Michael SchumacherFerrariAlbert Park
2003David CoulthardMcLaren-MercedesAlbert Park
2004Michael SchumacherFerrariAlbert Park
2005Giancarlo FisichellaRenaultAlbert Park
2006Fernando AlonsoRenaultAlbert Park
2007Kimi RaikkonenFerrariAlbert Park
2008Lewis HamiltonMcLaren-MercedesAlbert Park
2009Jenson ButtonBrawn-MercedesAlbert Park
2010Jenson ButtonMcLaren-MercedesAlbert Park
2011Sebastian VettelRed Bull-RenaultAlbert Park
2012Jenson ButtonMcLaren-MercedesAlbert Park
2013Kimi RaikkonenLotus-RenaultAlbert Park
2014Nico RosbergMercedesAlbert Park
2015Lewis HamiltonMercedesAlbert Park
2016Nico RosbergMercedesAlbert Park

Upcoming Events

Tips & Betting Advice

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Australian Grand Prix betting odds & tips: All the betting odds & tips you need for the 2017 F1 season opener

The 2017 Formula 1 season gets underway with the Australian Grand Prix on March 27 and this is’s complete guide to the race in Melbourne.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages