No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address you certify that you are over 18, agree with our Terms & Conditions and indicate your consent to receiving email messages from us

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Ashes 2017-18 Schedule & Fixture List - Adelaide Oval to host first ever day-night Ashes Test

Luke Williams 13 Dec 2016
Australia will take on England in a five-match Ashes series in 2017-18. (credit: Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

The next edition of the Ashes series will be held in Australia in 2017-18 and its schedule was released earlier today. The Gabba in Brisbane will host the first Test from November 23 and the Test series will run all the way up to January 8, 2018.

Back Australia to win Ashes 2017-18 at 4/5 at Paddy Power

Australia and England will also face off in their first ever day-night Test match during the 2017-18 Ashes when they reach Adelaide for the second Test of the series. It will be played from December 2 at the Adelaide Oval. While Australia would have played at least three day-night Test matches by then, England's only foray into day-night Test cricket is expected to come against West Indies in 2017.

The third Test match of the series will be hosted in Perth but the stadium is yet to be decided. Traditionally, the WACA in Perth have hosted Tests in the city but with a new ground getting constructed, Cricket Australia have decided to wait on taking that decision. The series will round off with Tests at Melbourne and Sydney after Christmas and in the new year. 

Alastair Cook will have a lot on his plate going up against Australia

Cricket Australia's CEO, James Sutherland said: "We recognise how big the Ashes is for both home and travelling fans, and the early announcement of the schedule for this series will allow fans here in Australia and abroad to plan their Ashes summer."

He added: "This schedule will allow for at least three Sheffield Shield matches to be completed as preparation prior to the first Ashes Test in Brisbane."

"The decision to start the international season in Brisbane, then moving to Adelaide, allows us to give Perth Stadium the best chance to host the Test match, so we can welcome an even bigger crowd to Perth next summer."

Less than a week after the conclusion of the Test series against Australia, England will feature in a five-match ODI series against the World Cup champions as well, with matches to be played in Melbourne, Brisbane, Sydney, Adelaide and Perth throughout January, 2018.

Australia will also play five ODIs against England

England and Australia will then be joined by New Zealand in a T20I tri-series that will be played across both Australia and New Zealand. The first three games of the series will be played in Australia while the remaining three will be hosted by New Zealand before the final will be played at the Eden Gardens in Auckland.

England's tour of Australia 2017-18 schedule:

Ashes Tests

Ashes 1st Test, Gabba - Nov 23-27
Ashes 2nd Test, Adelaide Oval (d/n) - Dec 2-6
Ashes 3rd Test, Perth (venue TBC) - Dec 14-18
Ashes 4th Test, MCG - Dec 26-30
Ashes 5th Test, SCG - Jan 4-8

ODI series

1st ODI, MCG - Jan 14
2nd ODI, Gabba - Jan 19
3rd ODI, SCG - Jan 21
4th ODI, Adelaide Oval - Jan 26
5th ODI, Perth (venue TBC) - Jan 28

T20I tri-series

1st T20I, Australia v NZ, SCG - Feb 3
2nd T20I, Australia v England, Hobart - Feb 7
3rd T20I, Australia v England, MCG - Feb 10
4th T20I, NZ v England, Wellington Stadium - Feb 14
5th T20I, NZ v Australia, Eden Park - Feb 16
6th T20I, NZ v England, Seddon Park - Feb 18
Final, Eden Park - Feb 21

Ashes 2017-18 Series Winner Betting Odds:
Australia: 4/5 (Paddy Power)
England: 1/5 (bet365)
Drawn series: 13/2 (Betway)

Sports BETS United States
Change Location

*Terms & Conditions apply. Gamble Responsibly. 18+.

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Ashes 2017-18 Schedule & Fixture List - Adelaide Oval to host first ever day-night Ashes Test

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages