No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address you certify that you are over 18, agree with our Terms & Conditions and indicate your consent to receiving email messages from us

NBA 2017-18 Regular Season MVP Odds: Giannis Antetokounmpo is early favorite

  • Giannis Antetokounmpo is the early favorite in the MVP race
  • LeBron James, James Harden, Russell Westbrook and Kawhi Leonard are also contenders
Giannis Antetokounmpo (

Giannis Antetokounmpo of the Milwaukee Bucks has emerged as the early favorite to win the NBA regular season MVP award this season among the major bookmakers.

The Greak Freak is averaging over 30 points per game and leads the entire league in scoring. Antetokounmpo also leads his team in rebounding, assists and steals. Among his highlights this season is a 44-point explosion against the Portland Trail Blazers last October 21. 

Antetokounmpo is coming off a breakout season where he averaged 22.9 points, 8.8 rebounds, 5.4 assists and 1.9 blocks which also earned him the Most Improved Player award. The athletic forward also made it to the All-NBA Second Team, NBA All-Defensive Second Team and was voted an NBA All-Star starter for the first time. 

LeBron James is also considered to vie for the Maurice Podoloff Trophy this season. The Cleveland Cavaliers superstar won the award in 2009, 2010, 2012 and 2013. James has maintained his impressive numbers this season but the Cavaliers are struggling early on.

Other contenders for the MVP award this season are Kevin Durant of the Golden State Warriors, Russell Westbrook of the Oklahoma City Thunder, James Harden of the Houston Rockets and Stephen Curry of the Warriors. 2014 MVP Durant was named last season's Finals MVP after helping the Warriors win their second NBA title in three seasons.

Westbrook, meanwhile, bested Harden in last year's regular-season MVP race after becoming just the second player in NBA history to average a triple-double in a season. Westbrook's scoring is expected to go down this season following the arrival of veterans Paul George and Carmelo Anthony.

Curry was voted back-to-back MVPs in 2015 and 2016 so he's not as hungry as the others in claiming the coveted award. His offense was also affected with Durant's arrival. 

Another contender is Kawhi Leonard but he has yet to play this season due to a quadricep injury. The San Antonio Spurs forward has never won this award but he was NBA Finals MVP in 2014. 

NBA 2017-18 MVP Outright Odds (As of Nov 3)

Player OddsBookmaker
Giannis Antetokounmpo2/1Ladbrokes, Coral
LeBron James5/1Paddy Power
James Harden9/1William HillLadbrokesCoral
Russell Westbrook9/1William HillPaddy Power
Kevin Durant11/1Ladbrokes, Paddy Power
Kawhi Leonard16/1LadbrokesCoral
Kyrie Irving20/1William Hill
Anthony Davis25/1William Hill
Stephen Curry25/1Sunbets
John Wall50/1Ladbrokes
Karl Anthony Towns50/1Ladbrokes

NBA MVP Winners

SeasonPlayer, Team
1955–56Bob Pettit, St. Louis Hawks
1956–57Bob Cousy, Boston Celtics
1957–58Bill Russell, Boston Celtics
1958–59Bob Pettit, St. Louis Hawks
1959–60Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia Warriors
1960–61Bill Russell, Boston Celtics
1961–62Bill Russell, Boston Celtics
1962–63Bill Russell, Boston Celtics
1963–64Oscar Robertson, Cincinnati Royals
1964–65Bill Russell, Boston Celtics
1965–66Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia 76ers
​1966–67Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia 76ers
1967–68Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia 76ers
​1968–69Wes Unseld, Baltimore Bullets
1969–70Willis Reed, New York Knicks
1970–71Lew Alcindor, Milwaukee Bucks
1971–72Kareem Abdul–Jabbar (formerly Lew Alcindor), Milwaukee Bucks
1972–73Dave Cowens, Boston Celtics
1973–74Kareem Abdul–Jabbar, Milwaukee Bucks
1974–75Bob McAdoo, Buffalo Braves
1975–76Kareem Abdul–Jabbar, Los Angeles Lakers
1976–77Kareem Abdul–Jabbar, Los Angeles Lakers
1977–78Bill Walton, Portland Trail Blazers
1978–79Moses Malone, Houston Rockets
1979–80Kareem Abdul–Jabbar, Los Angeles Lakers
1980–81Julius Erving, Philadelphia 76ers
​1981–82Moses Malone, Houston Rockets
1982–83Moses Malone, Philadelphia 76ers
1983–84Larry Bird, Boston Celtics
1984–85Larry Bird, Boston Celtics
1985–86Larry Bird, Boston Celtics
1986–87Magic Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers
1987–88Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls
1988–89Magic Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers
​1989–90Magic Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers
​1990–91Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls
1991–92Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls
1992–93Charles Barkley, Phoenix Suns
1993–94Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston Rockets
1994–95David Robinson, San Antonio Spurs
1995–96Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls
1996–97Karl Malone, Utah Jazz
1997–98Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls
1998–99Karl Malone, Utah Jazz
1999–00Shaquille O’Neal, Los Angeles Lakers
​2000–01Allen Iverson, Philadelphia 76ers
​2001–02Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs
2002–03Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs
2003–04Kevin Garnett, Minnesota Timberwolves
2004–05Steve Nash, Phoenix Suns
2005–06Steve Nash, Phoenix Suns
2006–07Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks
2007–08Kobe Bryant, Los Angeles Lakers
2008–09LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
2009–10LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
2010–11Derrick Rose, Chicago Bulls
2011–12LeBron James, Miami Heat
2012–13LeBron James, Miami Heat
2013–14Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City Thunder
2014–15Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors
2015–16Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors
2016–17Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City Thunder

Tips & Betting Advice

Kick off time:

23 January 2018
10 February 2018
17 March 2018

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

NBA 2017-18 Regular Season MVP Odds: Giannis Antetokounmpo is early favorite

Giannis Antetokounmpo of the Milwaukee Bucks has emerged as the early favorite to win the NBA regular season MVP award this season among the major bookmakers.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages