No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address you certify that you are over 18, agree with our Terms & Conditions and indicate your consent to receiving email messages from us

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

NBA 2017-18 Eastern Conference Championship Odds: Cavs and Celtics are favorites

Lorenzo Gahol 29 Oct 2017
  • Cavs and Celtics are the favorites to win the Eastern Conference title
  • Wizards, Bucks and Raptors are the other contenders
LeBron James (

Check out the latest odds on who will win the Eastern Conference championship in the NBA this season.

The Cleveland Cavaliers and Boston Celtics remain the favorites to win the Eastern Conference title two weeks into the 2017-18 NBA season. The Cavaliers had the best record for most of last season before the Celtics edged them for the top spot heading into the playoffs. Cleveland, however, defeated Boston in the Eastern Conference Finals before eventually losing to the Golden State Warriors in the NBA Finals.

Adding intrigue to the Cavaliers-Celtics rivalry was the blockbuster trade made by the two teams in the offseason with Kyrie Irving heading to Boston in exchange for Isaiah Thomas, Jae Crowder and Ante Zizic. Irving, who spent the first six years of his NBA career in Cleveland, earlier requested to be traded.

Thomas will miss the start of the season due to injury but Cleveland made up for Irving's departure by acquiring former league MVP Derrick Rose and Dwyane Wade to team up with superstar LeBron James and Kevin Love. The Cavaliers also signed free agents Jose Calderon and Jeff Green and re-signed Kyle Korver.

Irving, meanwhile, will be the starting point guard in Boston's new-look team that also boasts of Gordon Hayward and Marcus Morris, rookie Jayson Tatum and holdovers Al Horford and Marcus Smart. Hayward, however, suffered a gruesome injury in their opening game and is expected to miss the remainder of the season. Morris is also injured and will miss their first few games.

Expected to challenge the Cavaliers and Celtics for the conference crown are the Washington Wizards, Milwaukee Bucks and Toronto Raptors.

The Wizards return the core of the team that won the Southeast Division title and pushed the Celtics to seven games in the Eastern Conference semifinals. The holdovers include starters John Wall, Bradley Beal, Marcin Gortat, Markieff Morris and Otto Porter Jr.

Bookmakers also expect the Bucks to do better this season with MVP favorite Giannis Antetokounmpo, Jabari Parker, Malcolm Brogdon and Khris Middleton all returning. Antetokounmpo was named Most Improved Player last season while Brogdon was voted Rookie of the Year.

DeMar DeRozan and Kyle Lowry will again team up in Toronto after the latter signed a new deal along with Serge Ibaka, who joined the Canadian club midway last season.

There are also high hopes for the Philadelphia 76ers - if at full-strength - after the long suffering franchise showed some significant progress last season with Joel Embiid leading the way. The star big man will team up with fellow youngsters Dario Saric, Jahlil Okafor, Ben Simmons and Markelle Fultz and free agent signings Amir Johnson and JJ Reddick. 

NBA 2017-18 Eastern Conference Championship Odds

Team OddsBookmaker
Cleveland Cavaliers4/7Ladbrokes
Boston Celtics5/1Betfred
Washington Wizards27/2Marathonbet
Milwaukee Bucks17/1Marathonbet
Toronto Raptors18/1Ladbrokes

Eastern Conference Finals Results

YearChampionRunner-upSeries Result
1949Washington CapitolsNew York Knicks2–1
1950Syracuse NationalsNew York Knicks2–1
1951New York KnicksSyracuse Nationals3–2
1952New York KnicksSyracuse Nationals3–1
1953New York KnicksBoston Celtics3–1
1954Syracuse NationalsBoston Celtics2–0
1955Syracuse NationalsBoston Celtics3–1
1956Philadelphia WarriorsSyracuse Nationals3–2
1957Boston CelticsSyracuse Nationals3–0
1958Boston CelticsPhiladelphia Warriors4–1
1959Boston CelticsSyracuse Nationals4–3
1960Boston CelticsPhiladelphia Warriors4–2
1961Boston CelticsSyracuse Nationals4–1
1962Boston CelticsPhiladelphia Warriors4–3
1963Boston CelticsCincinnati Royals4–3
1964Boston CelticsCincinnati Royals4–1
1965Boston CelticsPhiladelphia 76ers4–3
1966Boston CelticsPhiladelphia 76ers4–1
1967Philadelphia 76ersBoston Celtics4–1
1968Boston CelticsPhiladelphia 76ers4–3
1969Boston CelticsNew York Knicks4–2
1970New York KnicksMilwaukee Bucks4–1
1971Baltimore BulletsNew York Knicks4–3
1972New York KnicksBoston Celtics 4–1
1973New York KnicksBoston Celtics 4–3
1974Boston CelticsNew York Knicks4–1
1975Washington BulletsBoston Celtics4–2
1976Boston CelticsCleveland Cavaliers4–2
1977Philadelphia 76ersHouston Rockets4–2
1978Washington BulletsPhiladelphia 76ers4–2
1979Washington BulletsSan Antonio Spurs4–3
1980Philadelphia 76ersBoston Celtics4–1
1981Boston CelticsPhiladelphia 76ers4–3
1982Philadelphia 76ersBoston Celtics4–3
1983Philadelphia 76ersMilwaukee Bucks4–1
1984Boston CelticsMilwaukee Bucks4–1
1985Boston CelticsPhiladelphia 76ers4–1
1986Boston CelticsMilwaukee Bucks4–0
1987Boston CelticsDetroit Pistons4–3
1988Detroit PistonsBoston Celtics4–2
1989Detroit PistonsChicago Bulls4–2
1990Detroit PistonsChicago Bulls4–3
1991Chicago BullsDetroit Pistons4–0
1992Chicago BullsCleveland Cavaliers4–2
1993Chicago BullsNew York Knicks4–2
1994New York KnicksIndiana Pacers4–3
1995Orlando MagicIndiana Pacers4–3
1996Chicago BullsOrlando Magic4–0
1997Chicago BullsMiami Heat4–1
1998Chicago BullsIndiana Pacers4–3
1999New York KnicksIndiana Pacers4–2
2000Indiana PacersNew York Knicks4–2
2001Philadelphia 76ersMilwaukee Bucks4–3
2002New Jersey NetsBoston Celtics4–2
2003New Jersey NetsDetroit Pistons4–0
2004Detroit PistonsIndiana Pacers4–2
2005Detroit PistonsMiami Heat4–3
2006Miami HeatDetroit Pistons4–2
2007Cleveland CavaliersDetroit Pistons4–2
2008Boston CelticsDetroit Pistons4–2
2009Orlando MagicCleveland Cavaliers4–2
2010Boston CelticsOrlando Magic4–2
2011Miami HeatChicago Bulls4–1
2012Miami HeatBoston Celtics4–3
2013Miami HeatIndiana Pacers4–3
2014Miami HeatIndiana Pacers4–2
2015Cleveland CavaliersAtlanta Hawks4–0
2016Cleveland CavaliersToronto Raptors4–2
2017Cleveland CavaliersBoston Celtics4–1

Sports BETS United States
Change Location

*Terms & Conditions apply. Gamble Responsibly. 18+.

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

NBA 2017-18 Eastern Conference Championship Odds: Cavs and Celtics are favorites

Check out the latest odds on who will win the Eastern Conference championship in the NBA this season.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages