No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address you certify that you are over 18, agree with our Terms & Conditions and indicate your consent to receiving email messages from us

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Euroleague Live Streaming: A guide on how to watch the 2017-18 Euroleague season

Lorenzo Gahol 26 Oct 2017
  • Euroleague 2017-18 will run from October 12 to May 20, 2018
  • Final Four will take place at the Kombank Arena
Fenerbahce players celebrate after winning their maiden Euroleague crown (credit: OZAN KOSE/AFP/Getty Images)

The 2017-18 Euroleague season begins on October 12 and will run until May 20, 2018.

Why watch Euroleague Live Streaming?

The Euroleague is the top-tier international professional basketball league in Europe. It is ranked second only to the NBA in popularity and competitiveness although several Euroleague clubs have beaten NBA teams in the past.

Many Euroleague products went on to have successful NBA careers like Drazen Petrovic, Vlade Divac, Toni Kukoc, Arvydas Sabonis, Andrei Kirilenko, Manu Ginobili and Luis Scola. In addition, many former NBA players found a home in the Euroleague. The long list includes former NBA MVP Bob McAdoo, slam dunk machine Dominique Wilkins, Alphonso Ford (whose name bears the Euroleague's top scorer award), Roy Tarpley, Anthony Parker and Tyus Edney.

The Euroleague has also produced great players who never played in the NBA like Dejan Bodiroga, Dino Meneghin, Manuel Raga and Sergei Belov. Head coaches who started their careers in the Euroleague before invading the NBA include Mike D'Antoni and David Blatt.

Current Teams and Format

A total of 16 teams will compete in the Euroleague for the second-straight season.

The participants are long-term license holders Anadolu Efes (Turkey), Baskonia (Spain), CSKA Moscow (Russia), Barcelona (Spain), Fenerbahce (Turkey), Maccabi Tel Aviv (Israel), Milano (Italy), Olympiacos (Greece), Panathinaikos (Greece), Real Madrid (Spain) and Zalgiris (Lithuania), Adriatic League champion Crvena Zvezda (Serbia), Eurocup champion Unicaja Malaga (Spain), VTB United League runner-up Khimki (Russia), Liga ACB champion Valencia and Bundesliga champion Brose Baskets. 

Regular Season
All teams will play a double round-robin using the home-and-away format for a total of 30 games per team. The top eight teams after the regular season will qualify for the best-of-five playoffs while the remaining eight clubs will be eliminated.

In this phase, the No. 1 seed will take on the No. 8 seed, the No. 2 seed will face the No. 7 seed, the third seeds will play the sixth seeds and the fourth-ranked club will battle the fifth-seeded team. The winners in the best-of-five series will qualify for the Final Four.

Final Four
The Final Four will take place at the Kombank Arena in Belgrade on May 18 with the winners advancing to the championship game two days later. The losers will fight for third-place honors.

How to watch Euroleague 2017-18 Live Streaming

Step 1: Go to William Hill
Step 2: Register an account (Customers need to have a funded account)
Step 3: Click on WHTV live streaming on the main menu
Step 4: Select basketball and you can now watch and bet on the Euroleague 2017-18 season 

Euroleague History

The Euroleague was established in 1958 as the FIBA European Champions Cup. It became the FIBA European League in 1991 and FIBA Euroleague in 1996.

Basketball's world governing body ran the premier league until 2000 when Euroleague Basketball, a private company based in Barcelona, entered the picture and formed a brand new Euroleague. Top teams Olympiacos, Kinder Bologna, Real Madrid, Barcelona, Tau Cerámica and Benetton Treviso joined the newly-established league while Panathinaikos, Maccabi Elite, CSKA Moscow and Efes Pilsen opted to remain with the FIBA-operated competition which was subsequently renamed FIBA SuproLeague.

Thus, the 2000-01 season saw two continental champions: Maccabi (Suproleague) and Kinder (Euroleague). The two leagues merged the following season with Euroleague Basketball taking over operations. 

In October 2015, FIBA attempted to regain control of the Euroleague by inviting the top clubs in the continent to join the newly-established Basketball Champions League. However, the clubs opted to remain in the Euroleague and the inaugural BCL ended up with lower-ranked teams that are neither competing in the Euroleague nor the second-tier EuroCup which is also operated by Euroleague Basketball.

Soviet clubs dominated the early years of the Euroleague before Real Madrid led by Clifford Luyk became a force in the 1960s. Italian club Varese starring the great Dino Meneghin was the most dominant team in the Euroleague in the 1970s. Italian clubs continued their dominance in the 1980s with Cantu, Roma and Milano winning titles. Yugoslav sides Cibona, Jugoplastika and Split also won titles in this decade. 

The 1990s saw the rise of Greek giants Panathinaikos and Olympiacos, which continued to win titles in the next two decades. CSKA, Maccabi and Barcelona also had triumphs in the 2000s. 

Real Madrid is the most successful club in the Euroleague with nine titles and eight runner-up finishes. CSKA Moscow is ranked second with seven titles followed by Maccabi Tel Aviv and Panathinaikos with six apiece. Varese has five titles that were all won in the 1970s while Olympiacos, Milano, ASK Riga and Split have three each.

Fenerbahce won its maiden Euroleague crown last season after beating Olympiacos 80-64 in the final at the Sinan Erdem Dome in Istanbul. CSKA Moscow placed third while Real Madrid finished fourth.

List of Champions

Euroleague Champions

TeamTitlesChampion Years
Real Madrid10
1963–64, 1964–65, 1966–67, 1967–68, 1973–74, 1977–78, 1979–80, 1994–95, 2014–15, 2017-18
CSKA Moscow71960–61, 1962–63, 1968–69, 1970–71, 2005–06, 2007–08, 2015–16
Maccabi Tel Aviv61976–77, 1980–81, 2000–01, 2003–04, 2004–05, 2013–14
Panathinaikos61995–96, 1999–00, 2001–02, 2006–07, 2008–09, 2010–11
Varese51969–70, 1971–72, 1972–73, 1974–75, 1975–76
Olympiacos31996–97, 2011–12, 2012–13
Olimpia Milano31965–66, 1986–87, 1987–88
ASK Riga31958, 1958–59, 1959–60
Split 31988–89, 1989–90, 1990–91
Barcelona22002–03, 2009–10
Virtus Bologna21997–98, 2000–01
Cantu21981–82, 1982–83
Cibona21984–85, 1985–86
Dinamo Tbilisi11961–62
Joventut Badalona11993–94
Virtus Roma11983–84
Fenerbahce 12016-17

Sports BETS United States
Change Location

*Terms & Conditions apply. Gamble Responsibly. 18+.

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Euroleague Live Streaming: A guide on how to watch the 2017-18 Euroleague season

The 2017-18 Euroleague season begins on October 12 and will run until May 20, 2018.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages